Blowing Blue Smoke...Please Help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2009, 08:34 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Blowing Blue Smoke...Please Help

Hey Ya'll, so I just bought an 01 F350 and I am new to the Powerstroke for the most part. I got the truck to use as a farm truck. I bought it from an old farmer who parked it because he got a "fix it" ticket because of the amount of blue smoke she was pouring out!

Ok so let me tell you about the truck. It was used as a cable reel hauler for a cable pulling company. She has the 7.3 powerstroke and it only has 72K original miles on the dash. Oil was changed roughly every 4K miles and the automatic transmission was replaced at 50K by Ford due to a mechanical failure. It is a crew cab with a factory steel C-M bed over the dually wheels.

So this is what he had done to the truck(or so he says), they replaced the turbo, three injectors on the left bank, the injector harness on the left bank, and completed a successful compression test. The truck was still bellowing blue smoke and he received a ticket in Connecticut for it, he towed it back to Texas and it has been parked ever since. The factory turbo was put in the back seat and the new turbo was taken off and put on another truck(apparently it was a bigger turbo and the guy wanted to use it on his other truck). I have all the parts to put the turbo back on and he says that the turbo works fine, we will see!!!

First question: The truck sat with no turbo on it, the hood seal didnt seal and so the turbo pipe that goes into the plate right by the valve cover on the drivers side is full of rain water. Do I need to tear the engine down and clean this out or what would be the best solution to evacuate the water out of this location?(There is no water in the oil upon a dipstick check)