2000 7.3 powerstroke wont start in cold or? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2009, 04:32 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2000 7.3 powerstroke wont start in cold or?

Ok so I am new to the this forum so here it goes. first off I am sorry for the story.

I just purchased another F350 Ford I have a couple diesels and I love them until now!

I looked for a while for another 7.3 powerstroke with low miles So when I found one with 60k mles that was a one owner and lifted I bought it. Its a 2000 ford F350 crewcab longbed, 60k miles perfect shape, 10in lift 42in tires. any way,The guy drove it from Miami Fl to Oklahoma cty to meet me and then I drove it to from there to colorado.

Now when I drove it home the check engine light would come on when I was going up big hills getting on the gas then ounce n a while flicker. about 400miles into my drive the truck just dies on me at 85mph. So I pull over and it wasn't easy,I turn the truck off and boom it starts up just fine and I drive on. So I am on my way again a few miles down the road in Colorado I get pulled over for doing 95mph in a 55 I explain to the officer that I just purchased the truck and the tires must have it all screwed up and my speedo said 65mph and it did , So he lets me go with a warning and says he likes the truck! so any way I get home at 3 am its kind of cold so I look for the block heater cord and I cant find it so I went inside.

The next morning I go out side and it wont start. So I look for the plug and I found it stashed behind the bumper so I plug it in an hour latter it starts up.
So I take it directly to one of the best diesel shops in town and drop it off and asked them to check it from top to bottom and if it needs anything to fix it. winter is coming and its 15deg and getting colder. Today was -6

Again Sorry for the story.