Ring damage?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2007, 08:52 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ring damage??

Hi, first post here. I'm a competent gas motor mechanic but new to diesels. I've been reading the forum for about week. I just bought a '99 F250 w/ 7.3 PS. Here's my story:

Bought the truck off EBay, so no chance to check it out before purchase. Asked questions and got all the right answers. Looked to be worth the price of $8500. Lifted 8" with 37s, straight body, no rust. 222,000 miles. Supposedly rebuilt turbo and some other motor work.

Wrapped up the deal and hired a transporter to bring the truck to me on the east coast. The economics made sense to ship vs. going there and driving it back. And this is where the issues begin.

The truck ran and drove onto the trailer when picked up. The transported called and told me the truck wouldn't run when he tried to move it off the trailer. He put in fresh diesel but it wouldn't fire. When he arrived here to drop it off, his father who was a supposed Ford diesel mechanic said to use starting fluid to see if it will run. When it was on the trailer he shot the fluid into the motor and it fired. He continued to squirt the fluid in the motor for about 1-2 mins while it ran, using some revving as he squirted the fluid. After the fluid was burned off, the truck died. Obviously a fueling problem. I had the truck towed home and started to try and diagnose the problem. I noticed the tach wasn't registering when it ran on the fluid so I figured it was the CPS. After some other diagnosis I figured to start simple and check the fuses. Fuse #30 was blown so the ECU was not getting any power. Further reading on this forum led me to the fuel heater element. Unplugged the fuel heater and the fuse stopped blowing. Put some cables on it and it fired right up. No fluid used.