Where is the IPR - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2007, 04:56 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Where is the IPR

hi guys, where exactly is the IPR on 96 7.3.... trying to chase a no start problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-08-2007, 05:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: kannapolis NC
Posts: 525
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
directly behind and to the right of the hpop resivore, have checked the camshaft position sensor?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-08-2007, 05:12 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, changed the GPR and CMP. What a pain in the butt..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-08-2007, 05:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: kannapolis NC
Posts: 525
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did you check the oil level in the hpop resivore?how about your batteries, are they well charged.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-08-2007, 05:48 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No I did not. Is the hpop behing the fuel filter bowl?
Quick rundown of my problem.. Scott has been very helpfull with his ideas
I went to start the truck the other cold am, truck ran and started hard which it was doing for some time. I changed the GPR and changed fuse 22 and the truck started and ran for several hours then while driving it just died. I then changed the CMP. That did nothing. When I am cranking the motor i have no tach.
So now I am going to see if there is power to IPR...And if not I guess it is the PCM..
It has been so cold up here in boston I am going to give it ago tommorow
thanks for your help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-08-2007, 06:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: kannapolis NC
Posts: 525
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
by "have no tach" do you mean it does not move or you don't have one . if you have a tach and it don't move while cranking the engine that leads to a bad cps "cam sensor" about 90% of the time. just remember that cuase its new does not mean it want be inoperable. these things are electrical and sh&% does happen.also parts store cps don't always work well in these engines.

Last edited by mako314; 02-08-2007 at 06:14 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-08-2007, 06:30 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
cps

Well i brought one back just in case to Napa and put another one in and still nothing. Would you thimk I got another bad one?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-09-2007, 02:43 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern Minnesota
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is your oil pressure guage going up when the engine cranks? dont worry about the tach, if your oil is'nt going up it'ts a good chance its your high pressure pump or ipr.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-09-2007, 02:58 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I will check that in The am... But would that cause the WTS light and the GPR not to cycle?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-09-2007, 03:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern Minnesota
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Weel lets put it this way, if your wts light is't going out, the chances are it's a glow plug relay or glow plugs, but if your oil guage isnt going up, you arent gettin any oil to the high pressure pump. However when your oil pressure guage does go up, it means that your hpop is getting the oil-but-it could mean, like when you said it just died, that the sensor that detects your oil pressure in the high pressure oil rail is failing.(it screws into the cyl. head I think on your model)

Last edited by camrod; 02-09-2007 at 03:39 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors