4x4 wont engage - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 04-14-2013, 10:34 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
4x4 wont engage

my 4x4 wont engage on my 2001 F350, the light comes on on the dash but it doesn't actually engage.... Any ideas????
nellyd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-14-2013, 10:57 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
rocktamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 323
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would guess that its engaging the front differential but not the hubs, does it work if you manually lock the front hubs?
You have a vaccum leak would be my guess. One of the vaccum hoses is cracked or disconnected, or one of the hub seals is bad. They make a vaccum system tester that checks for leaks but I would visually inspect the system from the vaccum pump to the hubs. Vaccum leaks are a PITA and a lot of people end up just replacing all the hoses.
Personally I just manually lock my hubs though.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

1999 F250 XLT 4X4



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rocktamer is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-14-2013, 11:24 AM
Member
 
TGauger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would agree with the above. I had a similar issue where my transfer case would engage but the auto hubs weren't. I had to get out and manually lock the hubs. My vacuum leak was in the seal of the hubs.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


05 F-350 CCLB, Harley Davidson Edition
TGauger is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-14-2013, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They do work manually, so i will check all the vacuum lines going to the hubs thx....
nellyd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome