How to tell if a hub is locked? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2012, 09:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How to tell if a hub is locked?

I am pretty new to 4x4's and an extreme novice when it comes to drive line/suspension issues. Please excuse me if I use any wrong terminology.

I have been reading a lot about the horrors of ESOF 4 wheel drive keeping the hubs locked so I wanted to investigate.

If I crawl under my truck and spin the front drive shaft, the U joint (I believe its called) will spin on one wheel, but not the other. This is with the hubs turned to auto. If I manually lock one hub and repeat the process I can get the U joint to turn on the opposite wheel. If I manually lock both hubs they both seem to sop rotating.

I guess I am asking if there is a way for a novice to tell if one or both of my hubs are locked when they shouldn't be. For instance, if I manually turn my front drive shaft, can I look for movement somewhere to tell me I'm not locked. A friend said "you can just tell"...However, I still cant tell.

Sorry for the long post, thanks for any help. Ive been reading online about it but it can get confusing.

2002 F250 4x4. Extended cab, Auto, 7.3 diesel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-02-2012, 04:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

I have manual locking hubs (granny locks), and the way I can tell they're locked is if you turn the front wheel all the way to the left or right and drive, you'll feel a distinctive clunk. Almost like they're rubbing against something. It's just the way Ford made em.
Old 11-02-2012, 07:51 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Well that test doesn't really work for me. I can't tell because my truck has 35's on it...There is a scrubbing sound when I turn sharply already.
Old 11-03-2012, 11:28 AM