Pinion carnage! With pics - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2012, 04:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pinion carnage! With pics

I just purchased two Super Duty's, a '99 F-350 and an '01 F-250. Both are 7.3L with 6sp, 4x4, super cab longbeds.
Anyway, I got the 350 on the road and had driven it about 30-40 miles, not knowing there wasn't any fluid in the rear diff. It didn't show any signs of leaking, and I'm guessing the fluid had leaked out over the past year and I consider it my fault for not checking the levels before getting it on the road. The result, the pinion is in two. I have limited knowledge of rear ends, mostly limited to what I have learned from this page http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billav...4b_Gear_Setup/
but from what I can tell, the only thing thats possibly salvageable from this is my carrier and ring gear. Anyone who sees different from the pics, please speak up.

Due to the hole where the pinion race goes basically trashed this whole rear end (housing?) right?

Last edited by eastenn; 03-27-2012 at 06:38 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-24-2012, 10:13 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

The hole is there to allow oil to pass to your outer pinion bearing. Your housing is good to go! Carrier looks good too! Take it apart and really check your clutches you may have to put new clutches in. If any amount of metal got into the clutches they are shot!! I just did my 08 and it was a pain!! I had to go from my 10.5 ring to 10.25 kit and it still sounds like crap!! I'm re-doing it all over and going with OEM 10.5 ring and pinion and install kit!! Retro-fitting to a 10.25 was a disaster!! Good luck with yours!
Old 04-24-2012, 10:37 AM