Rear wheel death wobble?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2010, 10:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Rear wheel death wobble??

Didn't think I would ever have such a thing, but I do! Under 55 is no problem, over 55, and I hit a bump, instant whole truck vibration. No steering wheel input, and its definitely coming from the rear. Hit another bump, and its fixed.

After pulling a stupid load, occasionally there was a clunk, or shift from a dead stop. Just like a transmission mount, or even motor mount going out. They all checked out, and I have been driving it unloaded for about 2 months now since. I have not experienced that shift without pulling a load since.

Today going home, I hit a pothole on the highway, and it sounded like I was crossing the hash marks to wake up drivers, and the whole truck shook. I pulled over, didnt see anything, and carried on. Hit another bump in the road, and it came right back.

I'm thinking centering pin, but I dont see any obvious signs of the axle moving. Thoughts?

This is what may have started all this crap...the wedge weighs in at 9k, and the middle jeep is a fat pig with a full cage, and 60's. I was not happy to pull it, but we were in a bind, and only had 50 miles to travel.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-20-2010, 03:29 PM

I would do a thorough check of your rear springs, shackles, and u-bolts for anything loose or broken.

Then check your driveline u-joints and carrier bearing for excessive play.
Old 09-21-2010, 01:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregsSD View Post
I would do a thorough check of your rear springs, shackles, and u-bolts for anything loose or broken.

Then check your driveline u-joints and carrier bearing for excessive play.