Did engine transplant and now auto slips and doesnt change back! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2010, 12:46 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did engine transplant and now auto slips and doesnt change back!

Hey guys this is my first time on here as I have a problem with my 2004 F250 PSD.

I live in Australia and long story short, the guys that work for me dusted the engine while working out bush, it sucked all sorts of crap through it and now has no compression and turbo is screwed.

I got a second hand complete engine with very low kms that is like new and did the transplant, all bolted up and started straight away.

I did not drop the auto when doing the transplant or removed the TC so in theory the Auto should be fine. But after hooking it all back up I took it for a drive and it doesnt take off like it use to and seems like the auto is always slipping. Also it doesnt drop back when it should and holds gears for to long.

The engine i replaced it with is from a 99 F250 but the engine in it was also replaced and is actually a 2002 PSD is there any differnce from 2002-2004?

I noticed the TPS in the donar truck is the old style that can be easily moded and the TPS in mine is a newer style that does not look to be able to be moded, could this differnce be a problem?

As there is no computers on the actual engine I couldnt see how this would cause an issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Jack
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2010, 02:44 AM
scuffs *****

Send a message via AIM to Tyler
Yeah, BIG difference, you put a 7.3 in your truck, when you needed a 6.0 motor. The trannies are WAY different, motor is completley and totally different, computers are different, programs are different, you name it, its different.