Powerstroke nOOb here, 4WD question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2010, 04:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Powerstroke nOOb here, 4WD question

First of all hello all! This is my first post on powerstroke.org. I am posting this question because I have a question about a vehicle (7.3 Powerstroke) that I'm considering purchasing.

The truck belongs to an aquaintance that has allowed me to drive it for a few days and I've noticed a couple of (hopefully minor) issues. It's a 2000 7.3L F-350 4x4 dually with 75K miles. The price seems good and I really like the truck but am concerned about the fact that the 4 wheel drive doesn't seem to work.

Symptoms: When I went to test the 4 wheel, I could switch the dash knob and it would light up in all positions. I could also tell that the transfer case was engaging, but the hubs were not. The front left will lock in manually, but the right one just spins and spins when trying to engage it manually.

Neither wheel ever actually engages though. Also, I've read on here something about auto and manual 4WD on these trucks but it seems this one might be some kind of hybrid. Does the auto 4WD not have manual lockouts or am I missing something?

Thank you for any assistance. My other issue seems to be a possible turbo problem, but I will post that question in the appropriate forum for it. Thanks so much.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2010, 04:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Sounds like this truck haas both (many of them do). Manual locking hubs in case the vacuum in the auto gets messed up because it it common to happen (not just in fords but all trucks) But even manually locking the hubs it wont engage?
Old 03-03-2010, 04:18 PM