hub problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2010, 03:17 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: frederick, MD
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
hub problem

i have the switch on the fly 4X4 and my auto locking bubs do not work, but i can still lock the hubs in and get 4X4, i've seen that there are o-rings on the hub, or is the actual hub goig bad?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-10-2010, 04:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maurepas, Louisiana
Posts: 206
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know my 01 has the vacccum operated lock in hubs,,,, I put in Warn manuals. I wonder if your vac is whacked or a line is kinked/broken,came unconnected ? Does your Vac pump run more than normal?

RB
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-10-2010, 04:27 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Probably a vacuum leak, the wheel seal leaking or a hose off. Seems from what I've read that if you want 100% reliability then you have to go to warn manual hubs and give up the SOF idea. My wheel seals are shot and when I turn the switch my AC goes into defrost mode, a sure sign of a vacuum leak somewhere.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-10-2010, 05:11 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 508
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if they work when u lock them you have a vac leak like 99% of us it seems....could be a split line, could be a bad vac pump
check lines going to hubs in fenders and check line that hangs down in passanger footwell up into behind glove box for any obvious disconnections, or split or broken lines..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-10-2010, 06:25 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: frederick, MD
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
alright ill have to check after the snow is done, thank you guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-10-2010, 06:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 217
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Simple fix. Take under $200, get yourself a set of Warn manual hubs, take the stock vac-craps off and throw in garbage, install Warn hubs. End of problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-10-2010, 02:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,166
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Or replace stopped up fitting at wheel and Save $200. There are several threads going on 4wd problems. Read all of them. Lots of info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-10-2010, 06:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 508
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i didnt do anything with the vac line wen i installed hubs....i just figure it will be fine still connected even tho not functional....no??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-11-2010, 01:18 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: frederick, MD
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
is the vac line right on the back of the spindle?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-11-2010, 09:24 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maurepas, Louisiana
Posts: 206
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tturbonegro View Post
i didnt do anything with the vac line wen i installed hubs....i just figure it will be fine still connected even tho not functional....no??
If your vac pump is not continously running, yer probably fine. I am still setup the same too. I did replace the vac seals in my hubs when I change out the hub assemblies due to bearing failure. I believe that if your seal is intact and the hoses are all ok, should not be a problem.

I will take mine off as close to the pump possible and capp them off later. No need to have a vac line down there if not needed, brush /sticks and junk could pull one of them off while muckking around.,

RB
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors