4X4 DOES NOT WORK IN AUTO POSTION BUT WORKS IN FINE IN LOCK POSITION - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2009, 06:38 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
4X4 DOES NOT WORK IN AUTO POSTION BUT WORKS IN FINE IN LOCK POSITION

I'm a new member (first post), and I'm looking at buying a 2002 F350 long box, crewcab, dually. I had it inspected and one of the problems was that the 4x4 does not work when the hubs are in the auto position, but it works fine in the lock position. Does anyone know what the problem is, and approximately what it costs to fix?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-24-2009, 06:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bessemer City
Posts: 333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
vac line ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-24-2009, 06:41 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you have a vaccum leak somewhere. the hubs can either be activated manually or automatically, when they are activated automatically, an attached vaccum line engages them a leak in these lines or elsewere in the system would cause them to not work. check to see if your defroster works
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-24-2009, 06:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How much to fix that?

How much does that cost to fix approximately? I haven't bought the truck yet as I wasn't sure if this would be something that would require some serious $ or just a few bucks, so I can not check the defroster.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-24-2009, 06:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A buddy just told me it could be the solenoid or a pump. Is that possible also?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors