Hole in Rear Axel Cover.. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2009, 12:51 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hole in Rear Axel Cover..

I have a 1999 F350 4X4 duallly Crew cab...heard a pop in rear area....looked under and have a rip in the axle cover...took cover of..have spider gears in the bottom etc.... What happend?? .truck has 149k..Any suggestions..total noob.. Thanks

Shack in Nac
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-04-2009, 10:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Well . . . it broke!

You will need a rebuild and if it was me I would replace the carrier with a locking carrier of some kind while I was at it. Check the gears over well and don't forget to wash out the wheel bearings just in case shards got that far.
Old 11-04-2009, 11:02 PM

My guess is a broken carrier pin. Power adders will do that. Happened to my buddy's Ranger twice.
Old 11-05-2009, 04:57 PM

I don't have any power adders..100% stock...Took out the carrier today..exciter ring bent, 1 spider gear broke...I need a whole carrier unit I guess..some of the spider gear is ,.lodged between the ring gear..can't get the ring off... thanks for the help about the bearing having chips in them ,,,i will try to find something..any suggestions on the locker unit..how much etc$$$

Thanks Broke down in TX... Shack
Old 11-05-2009, 05:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shack in Nac View Post
I don't have any power adders..100% stock...Took out the carrier today..exciter ring bent, 1 spider gear broke...I need a whole carrier unit I guess..some of the spider gear is ,.lodged between the ring gear..can't get the ring off... thanks for the help about the bearing having chips in them ,,,i will try to find something..any suggestions on the locker unit..how much etc$$$

Thanks Broke down in TX... Shack