Can the PCM be bad? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2009, 12:01 PM
Skeet
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: On The Road
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Angry Can the PCM be bad?

Just wondering... when i start the truck sometimes the motors rpms jump from less than 500 to 1000 like its tryin to die then something makes it jump it'll do it real quick and keep doing until i rev the engine up and it'll clear only does when i start it sometimes.. also have some codes on my tranny and sometime the t-converter won't unlock like at a stopsign or redlight.. sometimes it shift crazy up down up down... and goin down the highway keeping a steady speed sometimes the tc lock and unlocks real quick serveral times no hills no load just flat ground no cruise control either it quit... all this started happening at the same time a few months ago.. can't start it with the key I had to bypass it with a starter button... and been noticing my amp meter... when i start the truck its real low... battery's are new and hot optima's red tops... then when the truck runs right the amp meter is past half way which is more than normal.. but if the truck is acting up the amp meter will be low... also my instrument panel lights work when amp meter is up and truck runnin good ... but don't when everything is messing up too.. where do i start is a bad computer is it many wiring problems what do i do??? thanks for any help in advance ... fuses are all good tested with a light probe both sides of each fuse many times...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-18-2009, 12:05 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check all of the grounds . make sure the connector to the PCM is not loose might take it appart and check the overall condition of the connector itself look for corrosion also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-18-2009, 05:52 PM
Skeet
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: On The Road
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
checked the connector all the pins looked clean and good... as for grounds what grounds are you referring too... grounds from battery to block are all tight and clean... anyone have any idea what else to check and if it is the pcm how much is a new one...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-18-2009, 06:56 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeetdawg03 View Post
checked the connector all the pins looked clean and good... as for grounds what grounds are you referring too... grounds from battery to block are all tight and clean... anyone have any idea what else to check and if it is the pcm how much is a new one...
The last PCM I replaced was right at 500.00
As far as your amp gauge being low when first start of the day when the glow plug system is on it draws alot of amperage. Have you done the wiggle test with the truck running ? Might search around on here and find the testing procedure for the glow plug relay.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-18-2009, 07:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 2,026
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have heard that the bouncing in RPM's at start is usually the IDM going out or the ICP sensor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-22-2009, 06:09 PM
Skeet
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: On The Road
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
not the glow plug relay -- been replaced... don't have any problems starting in cold weather without bein plugged in ... whats the idm sensor or the ipc or icp.. sensor and where abouts they located... i've done alot of work on these trucks so i got a pretty good memory where everythings at just don't know the name of everything... i've done buzz test and glow plug test on a computer ... everything checks ok... just something still ain't right and that rpms jumping is very annoying and embarrasing... i'll be sure to check them out soon as i find em ...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-22-2009, 06:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 2,026
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ICP (injector control pressure) sensor tells the computer what the oil pressure is going to the injectors. it is located right behind the AC compressor, it is an angle going into the driver's side head. there is three wires and colored purple.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-22-2009, 06:25 PM
Skeet
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: On The Road
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok i know which one that is... whats the idm sensor you mentioned... if i remeber right the icp sensor was kinda high right i think a buddy changed one out for 120 bucks is that right? or close?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-22-2009, 06:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 2,026
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeetdawg03 View Post
ok i know which one that is... whats the idm sensor you mentioned... if i remeber right the icp sensor was kinda high right i think a buddy changed one out for 120 bucks is that right? or close?
the IH version is that much, the Ford version is about $100 more.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-26-2009, 04:10 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wichita Falls
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had a PCM that was bad but I didn't know it was bad until I had the dealer try to reflash it. Truck ran perfectly fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors