Cold Start Issues - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2008, 06:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cold Start Issues

Hey! I hope someone can help me out. My truck is tempermental at 32 degrees and below. Truck cranks but won't stay running unless i am on the throttle keeping RPMs up. Even after 2 minutes of this, the idle will drop off and get rough after i let off throttle. Then it smooths out, but truck also smokes(bluish smoke) a lot more now than before. Would not start last winter even plugged in. Now has new glow-plugs, glow-plug relay, glow-plug wire harnesses, valve cover gaskets, 2 new batteries, trans flush, and fuel system flush. All done at local Ford dealer (in Feb. 2008) who claims the injectors tested good. Bought this truck from a friend who is a diesel mechanic by trade. He says it should start without being plugged in. He started it with a remote starter, but plugged in, when he owned it. Obviously, this is anew issue? I am wondering if i am wrong for trusting him about this truck. Sorry for ramble. Any help is greatly appreciated.

95 F-250 4X4 Reg. Cab
7.3 'Stroke, 208k on truck
104k on '95 E-350 motor
3" downpipe from dieselsite.com
shift kit in tranny
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-20-2008, 06:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

after it warms up it runs good? how long does it take to start? as soon as it starts you have to manually keep it running?
Old 11-20-2008, 06:56 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Cold Start Issues