vacuum pump shaft bearing failure - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2008, 07:26 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
vacuum pump shaft bearing failure

Newbie here. Pulling my camper home tonight with my '96 F250 with 268,000 miles, three things happened - parking brake light went on, cruise control stopped working, and brakes got really firm but weak. Talked to a guy who has had a bunch of powerstokes, we figured it was the vacuum pump. I checked under the hood, and the serpentine belt was squeaking. Tried to get home, but ended up tossing the serpentine belt when the bearing went on the shaft of the vacuum pump. The pulley no longer lines up with the path of the belt, the shaft is bent, the bearing is gone, I was almost able to pull the pulley & shaft assembly out with no tools.

So I did the "one mile at a time" shoulder drive, keeping it from overheating until I could get it into a parking lot.

I'm at a relative's house tonight. I have no tools with. I need to take care of it in the morning and get home. I'm fairly mechanically inclined - I'm confident I could replace the whole assembly if a ford dealership has the parts needed. At the very least the bearing and shaft are done for. It is possible the pulley and the pump are functional, but I'm ok with replacing the whole assembly due to the age of the pump and the simplicity of replacing all of it.

Question -

What tools do I need to replace the pump & re-install the serpentine belt?

(pliers for the tube, 10mm C-wrench (or gear wrench?)

Do I need a pulley puller? Or can I get the whole assembly together?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-03-2008, 08:04 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie