★★★★★ no scan no start no wts GPR wont click - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:07 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation ★★★★★ no scan no start no wts GPR wont click

ok im new on this forum but not new to the 7.3 im pretty knowledgeable of the 94-98 psd but i have an issue so heres every from start to finish read carefully

my truck 95 psd F code : from NYS dutchess county

was driving my truck it just died CEL came on and that was it i changed the CPS sensor, tried cranking the the truck the CEL went off hmm ? So we went to scan the the truck scanner says failure to communicate .. odd ? THEN we checked all the fuses WITH A PROBE both sides there all good .. We then swapped in 3 DIFFERENT PCM's & IDM's still no WTS Still NOT scanning ... Then we checked the fuel bowl wires there all fine... We know the GPR is good we manually grounded it with a power probe The HPOP is ( FULL ) to the inspection port .. I also pulled pass side valve cover no burnt wires internally / externally ... I have a FASS in line fuel pump 7-8 psi to help the manual pump we checked for fuel pressure its got fuel .....So at this point idk

KEEP IN MIND this truck is not a salt infested / hack job truck everything is clean only thing is i swapped the E4OD for a ZF5 without switching computers but it ran fine for over a year ...... ive read on here that with out power to 5volt reference wire nothing will work idk what that is CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP US
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:16 AM
Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,897
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Check this out, it may help you
Diagnosing a 7.3 no start
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:26 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This is very basic I think were past this point im looking for someone to help me figure out if the pcm has power and to find out what this 5 volt ref wire people are talking about ive heard ill get these symptoms but thank you very much rammstein1224
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Woodside, California
Posts: 366
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
96 and newer were OBD2 (somewhat) compliant. And even then very few scanners read our trucks. So, not being able to communicate is no surprise.

If you bought a cps at at a local parts store they often fail right out of the box. Try one from the Ford dealer if you haven't.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:56 AM
Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,897
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerstroke_dolan View Post
This is very basic I think were past this point im looking for someone to help me figure out if the pcm has power and to find out what this 5 volt ref wire people are talking about ive heard ill get these symptoms but thank you very much rammstein1224
Well everything about this truck is "basic" I would look really hard at your fuse 22 in the engine bay, that fuse controls the fuel bowl heater but the pcm also runs on that circuit and that causes a no WTS light and no pcm power. I know you said you checked them but that is usually the primary culprit when you get no WTS light. Check the circuit down the line from the fuse box.

If its not that id say its pretty obvious that your pcm is dead and when you replaced it with 3 different pcms did you make sure that it was the same pcm code as your truck because unlike idms they arent all interchangeable.

The only reason your original pcm worked with the tranny swap is because everything about your truck it was seeing except the tranny and im not sure if it throws a soft code or not but some people say their truck doesnt like running with an auto pcm after the swap.

That being said it may have died coincidentally and the pcms you are replacing it with arent compatible and thus still causing a no communication with pcm. I know a few guys on here have pin out charts of the pcm but good luck testing if you try that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-25-2013, 08:11 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So I see what you guys are saying but I have power on both sides of the fuses ...about the PCMs i took both IDM & PCM out of friends truck and put it on mine nothing I took my pcm and idm and tried them on his fired right up SO we know its not the pcm or idm ive been checking the fuseable links and they have power both sides im running out of ideas
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-25-2013, 08:45 AM
WNY Biodiesel Co-op
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orchard Park New York
Posts: 871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The diagnostic port(OBDII connector ) is on the same fuse as the cigar lighter. Mine would blow this fuse when something is plugged into cigar lighter ,like an inverter etc. Then my AE won't connect or communicate but the PCM is good.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-25-2013, 09:31 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The tach on my truck barley moves, no smoke whatsoever comes from exhaust there's power at the fuse box and I checked underneath box for shorts nothing there, and power at the fuse box inside cab cigarette lighter has power both, I put a different map sensor on as well
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-25-2013, 04:32 PM
WNY Biodiesel Co-op
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orchard Park New York
Posts: 871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check the pcm plug for corrosion. i have a spare pcm from a 2000 f450 standard trans that works great in my truck except for the water in fuel light is on . I would think that at least 1 of the other pcm s would have communicated with the scanner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-25-2013, 04:38 PM
WNY Biodiesel Co-op
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orchard Park New York
Posts: 871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What are you using for a code reader / scanner?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
no scan, no start, no wts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors