Speedometer jumping - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2013, 08:50 PM
Chapter Director

Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Speedometer jumping

I just picked up a 95 7.3 and am starting to fix all the little things and one is the speedometer jumps at high speeds thus screwing with the cruise, My 95 Bronco did the same thing and reading some threads others have the same problem. Im new to the OBS so please if someone could explain how to fix this please
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-18-2013, 06:50 AM
Chapter Director

Bump anyone?
Old 06-18-2013, 08:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
VSS - vehicle speed sensor - in the rear diff is the prime suspect. May also be the wiring to it, or the tone ring on the diff that it interfaces with. Any idea how old the diff fluid is?
Old 06-18-2013, 08:53 AM
Chapter Director

Quote:
Originally Posted by madpogue View Post
VSS - vehicle speed sensor - in the rear diff is the prime suspect. May also be the wiring to it, or the tone ring on the diff that it interfaces with. Any idea how old the diff fluid is?
probably about as old as the truck. Im in the process of changing all the fluids. When im in there ill replace the vss and take a look at the wiring and tone ring(thats just a small gear that engages the differential gears right?)
Old 06-18-2013, 10:18 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews