Exhaust temps, what is normal - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 08:02 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exhaust temps, what is normal

Ok, as stated many times over, i am not a diesel mechanic or even good a faking it to date but, i want to ensure my girl lasts a long time.

Installed on this rig is a banks power pack system, or so says the previous owner. I have a gauge for Pyro, exhaust temp. Is this the same is the EGT's everyone talks about?

I ask because i noticed, as i drive up a hill about 3% for less than 400 feet, my girl goes from 350 up as high as 750 at a speed of 35-40 mph. I noticed she climes high when i dump on the go pedal, i understand this is the reason for heat but, it seems like it goes higher than it did last week.

As highway speed 65-70 Mph with cruise on and RPMs just shy of 2k, she runs in the high 600's.

Can someone explain what i should expect? Keep in mind, i do believe the gauge is installed wrong. Everyone says to install the probe in the exhaust manny but, mine per the Banks book is installed in the top of the turbine outlet pipe. Should i change location or just know it is about 200 degrees shy of the truth, which would concern me more?

I plan to blank the cat when i get money for a delete pipe and i know this will help a little, i have the inner cooler and also plan to buy a 6.0 fan and install. Any other ideas to lower EGT's, if this is what my gauge is telling me.

Thank you all
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2013, 12:08 PM
Premium Member

Is there anyone can help me with this?
Old 04-23-2013, 12:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

egt's shouldn't go above 1250-1300...with out a "hot" tune or towing heavy most people wont go even close...pre or post turbo are your numbers?