Reconfiguring Speedometer??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2013, 03:21 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bois D' Arc Mo
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Reconfiguring Speedometer???

I have recently lifted my truck and put bigger tires on it. Is there a way or a product you can buy to configure tire size? I called ford and since my truck is a 96 is was the first year of the OBD II port they said they can see the parameters but cant change them... But if there is anyway to change them it will not be much and they cannot change them that much to the 35 inch tire size... I have also tried to use a professional flash reprogrammer and they were not able to do it either... Please if anyone knows of anything let me know!!! THanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-18-2013, 04:34 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Reconfiguring Speedometer???

Look up under your glovebox, see if there is a single spade connector with a little tag that says PSOM on it...it'll just be clipped to a little tab and not plugged in to anything. If you have that, you should be able to Re-program using the select and reset button on your gauge cluster. I'll post the link to the how to on that.

http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/12...calibrate.html


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-18-2013, 04:46 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bois D' Arc Mo
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Awesome thanks!!! Is there any chance of messing anything up by doing this? I hate to fry something by doing the wrong thing..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-18-2013, 05:05 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Reconfiguring Speedometer???

Nah, nothing to fry by doing this. Only thing that can really be messed up is putting in the wrong calibration code and have your speedo still be off. But keep in mind, the speedo only allows recalibration I believe up to six times. After that it will not allow it anymore. So hopefully you don't mess up, and hopefully it hasn't been done many times if ever by previous owners.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-18-2013, 05:17 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bois D' Arc Mo
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No worries my dad had the truck before me so I know that is not a problem lol...hey thanks for the info i appreciate it!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-19-2013, 02:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bois D' Arc Mo
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hey is that measurement in feet or inches for the comp? I am guessing inches but just making sure?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-19-2013, 03:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,883
Thanks: 62
Thanked 161 Times in 154 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did u read post #3 in the link ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-19-2013, 03:24 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Reconfiguring Speedometer???

Inches.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-24-2013, 01:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bois D' Arc Mo
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hey i recalibrated my speedo and it made it kinda clitchy...it is not very smooth and kinda bounces...and it seems to be off on low speeds...have u or anyone had problems or know if that is a side effect?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-24-2013, 02:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 1,665
Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It wouldn't be a side effect from reprogramming. You might have issues with the Vehicle Speed Sensor (VSS) on top of the rear differential or its wiring. Cheers!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors