engine cutting out while driving - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 10-25-2007, 06:12 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
engine cutting out while driving

so this has happened twicw now, i forgot about the first time until it happend again this morning.

what happens is in the morning after i warm up the truck for about 3-5 min and start driving at a consistant speed it will very briefly cut out radomly unitl i get where im going. then its fine . like i said this has only happend twice so i dont what to think of it....any ideas?
tracyb is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 10-25-2007, 06:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
sldghamr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
have you checked codes from your computer??
sounds like a possible CPS problem.

if you see a light at the end of the tunnel, it's probably just a photon torpedo
sldghamr is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 10-25-2007, 07:06 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i haven't checked any codes but it doesn't have a check engine light on.

should i still try to check?
tracyb is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 10-25-2007, 08:05 PM
Electrical Ogre
 
alberta 7.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 12,090
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Thanks: 30
Thanked 76 Times in 73 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
When the CPS started to fail on my 96, it didn't throw on the check engine light, just some random stalling. Your best bet is to check for codes

Bill

1996 F250 SC/SB 4X4 XLT
1997 F250 RC/SB 2WD project
2008 F350 CC/LB 4X4 DRW Lariat, 3" cow catcher mod
2008 Ranger SC FX4
Quote:
Originally Posted by weareweird69 View Post
If your posting pictures bill, everyone dim their screens, that CAT YELLOW is bright
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fordman247365 View Post
Is there anything you DONT take apart and **** with?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJFLASH View Post
I still say that those Dodge mirrors have as much business on a OBS Ford as yoga pants have on a fat chick...my .02
alberta 7.3 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 10-25-2007, 08:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Albie30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: phx az
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Albie30 Send a message via Yahoo to Albie30
Do you have a chip if so check to make the connection is solid going to the cpu

2000 F250 cc 4x4 4" lift BFG 315's,,dp tuner Auto Meter gauges, Hybrid 235cc injectors,TN BB turbo,water meth injection,Ragin intake,ITP boost fooler Banks intercooler,big head wastegate,power elbow,torque converter,6.0 tranny cooler,High flow intakes AIH delete air ride air bags,gibson 4" exhaust,zoodad mod, remote start, Pioneer dvd/ navigation Sirrus radio,sun coast tranny ,Bts valve body,H11 s,Engine rebuild .030 over,Fluid Dampner,203 thermostat

425hp 775 Tq
13.9 @ 95 mph
Albie30 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 11-03-2007, 04:38 AM
Powerstroke Junkie


 
NCHornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 51 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sounds like either a chip coming loose or a CPS going bad. It won't always throw a code if it is just a brief hiccup. I would swap CPS's, you should have a spare anyway and they are cheap now. Good Luck.

NCH
Proud Father of USAF Airman


2000 F350 DRW,CC,LB, 4X4, Western Hauler Pkg.
Ford AIS/ BTM, FTVB
My CCV MOD, Coolant filter
06 Grill, 05 lights,6.0 trans cooler
Cyro/Hawks, JVC Touchscreen HU, JL C5's, Infinity 800watt amp,
DP tunes, 60 tow/80 e/120 race, on a SCT2 tuner
P3 controller, Brite Box Turbo Lifesaver
KMC Wheels x 4

http://s132.photobucket.com/user/NCH...=recent&page=1

Friends Don't Let Friends Drive Trucks With Generic Tunes
NCHornet is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 11-03-2007, 05:44 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tracyb View Post
so this has happened twicw now, i forgot about the first time until it happend again this morning.

what happens is in the morning after i warm up the truck for about 3-5 min and start driving at a consistant speed it will very briefly cut out radomly unitl i get where im going. then its fine . like i said this has only happend twice so i dont what to think of it....any ideas?
Same happened to me changed the cam position sensor problem went away. Used to happen a good bit while the wipers were on.
MIKIEPOPS is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-03-2007, 07:17 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1999 F250 7.3L, engine would just skip while driving above ~35mph. If stopped it would cut off. Read the posts here on powerstroke.org and found that the cam position sensor may be bad. Got one at the ford dealership for ~$30.00, replaced it today and so far no skipping or cutting off.

Thanks for saving me some $$$$$$$$!!!!!

Autie22686
autie22686 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-03-2007, 08:50 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i got mine fixed too, called around and was quoted prices from 150-200 then napa said it would be 40 so i bought it put it in and no more problem.

thanks
tracyb is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-03-2007, 03:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Great I have replaced mine twice would usually skip around 30-60 mph when the wipers were on and sometimes cutoff and restarted right away. One time it cut out and would not restart until the engine had cooled , next day replaced CPS with a aftermarket one worked then started again picked another sensor this time from a Ford dealer no more problems.
MIKIEPOPS is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome