Is A/C somehow connected to the Vacuum pump? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2012, 09:07 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is A/C somehow connected to the Vacuum pump?

First a caveat: I am not a mechanic and this is my first diesel no less first powerstroke. It's a 96 F250 crew w/250K on it. I have no idea what the history of the truck was but I have had to replace the front end and the timing cover, of all things.

Now, A/C hasn't been working for a year and I am in Texas and it's damn hot. So I did some research and found it could simply be the harness on top of the compressor and sure enough if I wiggled it just right the clutch would engage and cold air would blow. So now the harness must be makeing contact right because A/C is working but after about 15 minutes of driving my brake and ABS lights come on.

The only other time those lights came on was a bout 6 months ago, they started to come on and about the same time I had the recall done on the harness that goes into the end of the brake fluid/master cyclinder. They went off and never came back on after that. Until now. Now the come one after driving with the A/C on for awhile and only one time, so far, they came on without the A/C having been on but after driving for about 15 - 20 minutes.

So what could be the issue? I heard those lights come on sometimes due to malfunctioning vacuum pump (?). If that thing is about to go out, am I going to die a fiery death due to no brakes/power/etc.?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2012, 03:44 PM
BANNED by Kris