1996 PSD Trouble Starting - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2007, 05:12 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1996 PSD Trouble Starting

Hello. I am new to the Powerstroke Diesel world, and I just recently purchased my first diesel. I have 1996 F250 7.3L PSD with the manual tranny and 133k miles on it. I have been driving the truck for about a month now with no problems. The truck had a fresh oil change when I bought it using Rotella 15-40 and I installed a new fuel filter about 1000 miles ago.

When I went outside this morning, it took me about 5 minutes to get the truck to crank. It would turn over, but it would never start. After trying several times and cycling the key on and off a few times, the truck started right up. I have heard alot of things to check from reading on the forums here, but am not sure how to do alot of this. Except for this morning, the only other problem I have had is the truck stumbled a little one day (stopped running, WTS and CEL flashed, and the truck turned back on after I released the gas pedal), but this hasn't happened again since I replaced the fuel filter. Otherwise, the truck runs great, doesn't smoke, and averages about 20-21 mpg mostly highway driving. The truck is stock except for a 3.5" downpipe back straight pipe.

Is this a possible Cam Position Sensor issue? What other things should I check, and where can I find some details on doing this?

Thanks for the help
-Forrest
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-14-2007, 05:54 AM
Rice Hunter

aboard! Hope ya get her fixed....Here's a BUMP
Old 09-14-2007, 05:56 AM
Jon

CEL

I would like to see if there are any codes in it and what they are. If the cel came on it will have a code in it. That would be a good place to start.
Old 09-14-2007, 05:59 AM

Quote: