97 7.3 Programmer froze during tune! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 08-26-2007, 11:38 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
97 7.3 Programmer froze during tune!

Hey guys I'm new to the site but I've had my truck for over 2 years now. Well I had decided on selling my current chip (Edge Evolution) and was set on getting a shift on the fly type of chip. Well as I was reloading my stock tune back to the pcm, the link totally lost connection with the pcm and froze. Now I can't load my stock tune or the aftermarket tune back on and the truck will not start! The injector relay just sits there and clicks and i've swapped it with a known good one and still the same thing. What do you think might have happened and do you guys have any suggestions to fix this?

Chad
Chad Groce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-26-2007, 10:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
lilredpowerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Big Cypress Indian Reservation
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hate to be the bearer of bad news but it sounds like you PCM is fried and you might have to get a new one.

T.J.
2003 F-350 dually 6.0
Centennial Edition
Straight exhaust 34x10.50 Swampers on Black Rock Stars



Been a member longer than most of the moderators
Thats why I said most Tiff


Think you can trust the government? Ask an American Indian!

My old truck in action
lilredpowerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-26-2007, 10:35 PM
COLLEGE KID
 
lifewitlooie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to lifewitlooie
ouch!!!!!!!!!!!
lifewitlooie is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-26-2007, 10:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
rankroddin250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: lewiston, Id.
Posts: 5,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
might see if furd can flash it for you but im thinkin the pcm is toast... you might also check your fuses and make sure their all good to



A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.
---------------------------------------------------
The People of a free country should not be scared of their government, the government should be scared of their people.


rankroddin250 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-27-2007, 03:27 AM
Powerstroke Techie


 
alabamafrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are you sure there is not an aftermarket chip in the computer? We had that happen once when trying to load a predator programmer and we did not know the truck already had a chip in it. Not sure about the older ones but my 99 has the same fuse for the OBDii as the cigarette lighter/power port. I fried a computer once removing a chip with the key on, cost me $300 for a new computer at Ford.

***My Powerstroke Pics***
“Government, even in its best state, is but a necessary evil; in its worst state, an intolerable one” (T Paine)
Government cannot give anyone anything without stealing it from someone else. (A Frog)

alabamafrog is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-27-2007, 06:14 AM
Member
 
Hurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: north east oregon the gratest place on earth
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if you get aholde of edge they will probably send you a programer to set it back to stock. I programed mine about a month ago and it sounds like the same thing that happend to me the people at edge were really nice and overnighted the programamer to me for free
Hurley is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-27-2007, 09:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Calif
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check number 9 fuse under hood.
ono_55 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-28-2007, 08:44 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the replys i hope its not a bad PCM thats what im thinking though. I havnt had time to call edge but the programmer was a gift and i dont have proof of purchase edge proboally wont send me a new one or do they even ask???
Chad Groce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome