97 7.3 Programmer froze during tune! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2007, 10:38 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
97 7.3 Programmer froze during tune!

Hey guys I'm new to the site but I've had my truck for over 2 years now. Well I had decided on selling my current chip (Edge Evolution) and was set on getting a shift on the fly type of chip. Well as I was reloading my stock tune back to the pcm, the link totally lost connection with the pcm and froze. Now I can't load my stock tune or the aftermarket tune back on and the truck will not start! The injector relay just sits there and clicks and i've swapped it with a known good one and still the same thing. What do you think might have happened and do you guys have any suggestions to fix this?

Chad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Big Cypress Indian Reservation
Posts: 2,756
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hate to be the bearer of bad news but it sounds like you PCM is fried and you might have to get a new one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:35 PM
COLLEGE KID
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,226
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to lifewitlooie
ouch!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: lewiston, Id.
Posts: 5,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
might see if furd can flash it for you but im thinkin the pcm is toast... you might also check your fuses and make sure their all good to
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:27 AM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,575
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are you sure there is not an aftermarket chip in the computer? We had that happen once when trying to load a predator programmer and we did not know the truck already had a chip in it. Not sure about the older ones but my 99 has the same fuse for the OBDii as the cigarette lighter/power port. I fried a computer once removing a chip with the key on, cost me $300 for a new computer at Ford.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-27-2007, 05:14 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: north east oregon the gratest place on earth
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if you get aholde of edge they will probably send you a programer to set it back to stock. I programed mine about a month ago and it sounds like the same thing that happend to me the people at edge were really nice and overnighted the programamer to me for free
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-27-2007, 08:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Calif
Posts: 254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check number 9 fuse under hood.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-28-2007, 07:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the replys i hope its not a bad PCM thats what im thinking though. I havnt had time to call edge but the programmer was a gift and i dont have proof of purchase edge proboally wont send me a new one or do they even ask???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors