running lights stopped working - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 08-03-2007, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation running lights stopped working

Heres the story i plugged in my trailer the other day and that night i went to take it home. I turned my lights on and no running lights and no dash lights. I checked all fuses interior and under the hood. I moved all of my relays around to check those. I tried another light switch. When i jump the switch at the switch plug the running lights work. I am stumpped and need some help. Thanks for your time.
powerstrokinturbo is offline  
post #2 of 8 Old 08-03-2007, 07:43 PM
Member/MARINE
 
rajharley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westerville, Ohio
Posts: 992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to rajharley
sounds like you need to try swapping the switch for a new one.

02 F350 XLT DRW CC 6X6, ZOODAD MOD, DUAL PRESS RELIEF VALVE, 4" TURBO BACK EXHAUST NO KITTY NO MUFF, TS 6 POS CHIP, HIGH PRESS OIL LINE X-OVER, AIRAID THROTTLE BODY SPACER, DIY INTAKE NAPA 6637, PYRO, BOOST, TRANS GAUGES ON THE PILLAR, BANKS TRANS COMMANDER W/TRANS SHIFT KIT, BILLET TORQUE CONVERTER, WASTEGATE DELETE W/MAP FOOLER, SKYJACKER SHOCKS & DUAL STEERING STABILIZER, REDNECK CELL PHONE, RANCH HAND BUMPER, RECON BIG RIG, FENDER AND CAB LIGHTS, AND DIAMOND PLATE ACCESORIES.
rajharley is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-04-2007, 11:11 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
StarDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dahlonega, GA
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'd replace the switch and also check your trailer for a short that may be overloading the circuit. I'd put a fuse in the line from the trailer to the truck.

2006 F-350 4X4 FX4 Tuscany Longhorn , Leer Custom bed cap, RECON lights, Upfitter switches, Whelen Lighting, Hi-Idle Mod.

Instructor at B.R.A.K.E.S ( www.putonthebrakes.com).

28 years Commercial Driver.

StarDriver is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-05-2007, 06:47 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I replaced the switch for the second time. The running lights still will not work unless i bypass the switch and jump a hot to the running lights wires of the wireing harness. People say there may be a short in the ground. Where do i even Start? where do i go from here?
powerstrokinturbo is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-06-2007, 05:00 PM
7.3 tech, supporter

 
fordnut85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
remove the trailer lights and try again if the lights work then you need to look at the trailer if they still don't work try again.

Duane

1994.5 F-350, PSD, 5spd, Crew cab, 2wd, DRW
10k mod
Idle control mod
homeade exhaust brake
Tymar intake

fordnut85 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-06-2007, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the Trailer hasnt been hooked up since this happened. the trailer harness is a direct connect that goes in behind rear bumper. I have removed that and it still doesnt work.
powerstrokinturbo is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-06-2007, 06:47 PM
Rice Hunter
 
Diesel Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk,VA...Near the beach
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You may have a bad ground somewhere
Diesel Freak is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-07-2007, 06:01 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I checked the power to the switch and it had none. It was like a fuse was blown but none are. So i ran a direct line from the sylanoid with an inline fuse to the switch and now everything works like it is suppose to. Thanks guys for your help.
powerstrokinturbo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome