My Truck Died - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2007, 12:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My Truck Died

Hey there, wondering if anyone can give me some help. I have a 97 7.3 with a no start problem. Thought it might be the CPS, but I replaced it with no luck. I had my brother crank it while I pushed in the schrader valve, and it is getting fuel there but still no start. Sprayed some ether down the intake and she started right up but soon died when the ether burned up. Im now thinking it might be the IPR valve. Anyone have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-06-2007, 12:06 PM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
might be the icp?? try unplugging the icp and see if it starts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-06-2007, 12:11 PM
ADMIN AND TECH


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if it started with either you dont have any fuel pressure , only thing it can be is low fuel pressure , just because you have fuel at shrader valve doesnt mean it has pressure behind it, run a fuel pressure test, needs to be at least
50 lbs to start
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-06-2007, 12:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tried unplugging the ICP, still no start. Definitely not getting 50psi at the schrader. Mabye 10 tops.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-06-2007, 12:33 PM
ADMIN AND TECH


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you just answered you r own question , sounds to me like your fuel pump is weak , will not start with that fuel pressure
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-06-2007, 12:41 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Heres the story. Ive had the truck for about 3 months now. The truck ran like a top. A couple of weeks ago I got a TS performance chip. Installed the chip and on came the problem. When I went to change different positions, it stalled out, but would always start right back up. The chip did work also, aside from stalling out while switching. Came back from the store, and was fiddling with the switch to see if it would still stall. Of course it did, but hasent started again after that. So I let it sit for a while and drove my old truck, just now gettin around to fixing it. I just cant see why the chip would make my fuel pump shat the bed
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-06-2007, 12:44 PM
ADMIN AND TECH


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
very possible just a coincidence , or may have had to work a little harder to keep up, possibly causing failure
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-06-2007, 01:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It could happen. But I hope it didn't, I need to get this thing back on the road quick. And shelling out the money for a fuel pump is not sounding good.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-06-2007, 01:32 PM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iva, SC
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are you switching th chip while under throttle? Or does it stall after you get back on the throttle?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-06-2007, 01:39 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
only tried switching it at idol. It didnt always stall out, sometimes it would just bog down and drop rpm's a bit and then come back up. But occasionally would die on me. I have removed it and sent it back to where i got it so they can check the programs on it, so its out of the truck now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors