Loss of power - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2010, 09:16 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation Loss of power

I am new to diesels, a few months ago I bought a 1997 F250 4x4 with the 7.3 turbo diesel and the automatic tranny for 4300 with a plow. It has 260,000 miles on it but has a few newer parts and when it was warmer out ran great.

I live in Northern Indiana and it has been getting down to 20F at night.
When the oil warmer is plugged in overnight, it seems to run just fine the next day. But if it is not, it will start up without a problem (i just replaced batteries and glow plugs) but when driving, it seems like it isnt getting enough gas.
I will be cruising at 40mph, and then out of nowhere, the truck slows down and the engine gets quieter and i can hear the turbo alot more than i normally would. It will slow down for like 5 to 10 seconds, so i let off the gas and then give it more gas and it will run fine. Then 30 seconds down the road it will do the same thing.

Ive read that diesel gels in the cold, but i have also heard that up here in the north they allready add stuff to the diesel to keep it from doing that, and i try to keep it above a half tank to keep it from freezing.

Im thinking its the oil, i just put in Rotella 15w40 a few weeks ago with a new Mobile 1 oil filter.

Has anyone had any experience with this or know any additives to the oil I can use?

Thanks, Derek
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-07-2010, 09:23 AM
Rangers Lead The Way!

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Sounds like your Exhaust Back Pressure Valve is acting up. When this happens a big hissing noise is present and you have barely any throttle response at all right?

Also Welcome Aboard the .org!!!!
Old 11-07-2010, 09:27 AM

Yeah that almost sounds like it could be it.