Intermittent Tach - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2007, 09:16 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Superbossman
Intermittent Tach

I have a 1996 7.3PSD. It has an intermittent tach problem. I have replaced pretty much all of the sensors (CPS also) and it still does this. Normally it does not work but at times just suddenly pops on and works for any given time period and then stops again.
The truck runs beautiful so I am quite certain it is not the CPS. Does anyone have any knowlwedge or experience with any wiring or tach specific problems? Are the tachs themselves known for going bad? Is the PSD tach unique or will any of them work in this truck?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-15-2007, 09:20 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
Not sure about your question but someone here is bound to know what is going on with it.

by the way to the org!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-15-2007, 09:36 AM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iva, SC
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The only thing I could suggest is pull the instrument panel out and make sure the plugs are OK.

And...Welcome to the Forum!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-15-2007, 05:23 PM
7.3 tech, supporter

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 1,224
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I agree with pipe, check your connections on the back of the cluster for starters. If you find it is the tach I am pretty sure it can be replaced with one out of a gasser since they just use a generic pulse signal as long as you just replace the tach and not the whole cluster
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors