Cam Position Sensor - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 Old 05-19-2007, 12:41 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cam Position Sensor

Hey there. I'm new on here and just seeing if anyone can help me out. I recently bought a 97 F350 7.3. Truck was running sweet until i bought a ts performance chip, once I installed it, on came the problem. After the install, when I went to change different positions on the chip, the truck would stall out. It did it a couple of times but would always start back up. The last time it stalled out, i went to crank it back up and nothing. She'll crank all day but wont start. I contacted ts performance, not much help there. I was wondering if it could be the cam position sensor? When I go to start it, the wait to start light comes on which tells me the pcm is fine. But the tach dosent move. Just barely raises off its seat, and ive heard that its a good indication that the cps has sh!t the bed. I appreciate any input on the problem. Im sure some of you out there have had cps problems before. Is anyone running a ts chip, and did you have any problems with it?
Dieselmech is offline  
post #2 of 22 Old 05-19-2007, 12:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sounds like a CPS to me
aworm123 is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 05-19-2007, 01:05 PM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 
MrJohnWayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Waller/Magnolia
Posts: 9,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sounds like the CPS. I'm running a TS and no problems with it but I don't think the tunes are right for my truck.

John Wayne
Owner and Operator of the
REDNECK VALDEZ
You can find me on FaceBook
MrJohnWayne is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 05-19-2007, 02:03 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ya, thats what I was thinking also. Someone told me that it was the IPR valve (Injection Pressure Regulator). But I dont know about that. Its just hard to believe that the chip would make the CPS or IPR fail. But Im pretty sure its the CPS
Dieselmech is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 05-19-2007, 02:15 PM
Infidel

 
TexasR.N.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Take the chip out and see if it starts. If it doesn't then I would see about replacing the CPS, but it does sound like you are describing a CPS gone bad.
Where are you located? If you are in the D/FW area I have a spare that we could put in and see if it runs.
Craig

Remember Ft. Hood

And never forget who did it

Religion of peace my жопа


Quote:
Originally Posted by JK23112 View Post

Ah, we can lead a man to knowledge.....but we can't make him think.
TexasR.N. is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 05-19-2007, 02:20 PM
Jon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Yes

I agree, take the chip out and check. I personally have never seen a tach move more then just a lil shake whil cranking with a good or bad sensor. I have never been able to use that as a diag tool. I could go out right now and my tach wouldnt move anymore with the cps plugged in or unplugged. As intermittent as your issue is it sounds like a cps but since you just introduced a new player to the game take it out and see what happens. Make sure you have cleaned the prongs really good. Also, I have seen more then one bad burns on these type of chips.
post #7 of 22 Old 05-19-2007, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I pulled the chip out when it wouldn't start back up, no luck, still no start. I ordered two CPS's off the net today, figured id keep an extra one in the glove box. Cant beat it for 15 bucks each. I appreciate the offer, but im in florida. I believe im going to send the chip back also, they said they would check and see if the right programs are on it.
Dieselmech is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 05-19-2007, 02:47 PM
Jon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Codes?

Can you check codes for us? See if there is a 340 or 344?
post #9 of 22 Old 05-19-2007, 03:02 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dont know, can you pull codes with the key on these. I am new to Fords, Im not use to working on these little diesels. If you can pull codes with the key, i can do that.
Dieselmech is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 05-19-2007, 03:05 PM
Jon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
nope

Have to scan it. Do you have any friends with a superchip or hypertec or something? All you need it for is to check codes. I'm looking into buying a vin locked superchip tuner off ebay. You can find them for about 50 bucks. A lot of times most of the parts stores like advanced and auto zone have scanners that wont read diesels.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome