wondering how to install a chip on a 97 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2009, 06:59 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: stanfield
Posts: 750
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to White7.3stroker
Cool wondering how to install a chip on a 97

one of my buddys has a 97 powerstroke and hes wanting a chip and i have a couple M&M computer chips and im wondering how to install them if u even can install them on the older strokers....i know that the computer is under the hood...but any help would be appreciated.........thanks.......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-06-2009, 05:26 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mason OHIO
Posts: 383
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
what type of chip? like a TS type or like a plug and play edge evo type? if its a TS type you install it the same way as the you do on the other 7.3s take the computer out and install. Maintain has a vid on how to do it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-06-2009, 06:15 AM
Mod Newbie


 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,700
Thanks: 6
Thanked 113 Times in 106 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by brnchevy1500 View Post
one of my buddys has a 97 powerstroke and hes wanting a chip and i have a couple M&M computer chips and im wondering how to install them if u even can install them on the older strokers....i know that the computer is under the hood...but any help would be appreciated.........thanks.......
You can take the drivers side kick panel off and remove the 3 nuts that hold the parking brake assembly on. The computer is right behind it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-06-2009, 06:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mason OHIO
Posts: 383
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can you take it out that way?? i didnt know you could. how do you do that? unbolt it from under the hood then pull it out through the brake area hole??

learn something new everyday...
-Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-06-2009, 06:53 AM
Mod Newbie


 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,700
Thanks: 6
Thanked 113 Times in 106 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97-Stroker View Post
Can you take it out that way?? i didnt know you could. how do you do that? unbolt it from under the hood then pull it out through the brake area hole??

learn something new everyday...
-Steve
No, you don't take it out. You can install the chip with the computer installed in the truck. That's how I did my 95.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-06-2009, 08:57 AM
a truck
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 13,142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you want a write up on how to install it, I did one a while back, just shoot me an email at mpopiel@purdue.edu and Ill send it to you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-06-2009, 02:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mason OHIO
Posts: 383
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how do you install it while its in the truck. I had to take mine out and scratch off the prongs and use a scotch brite pad to clean them off. I dont think you could do that while its in the truck. PSD0389 Send me that write up to ssouder09@gmail.com or pm me it. Im interested in how others did it.

Thanks
-Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-06-2009, 02:49 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSD0389 View Post
If you want a write up on how to install it, I did one a while back, just shoot me an email at mpopiel@purdue.edu and Ill send it to you
send me the video.....c.kluttz@yahoo.com
My chips in, but I didnt like how I pulled the cpu
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-06-2009, 03:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: stanfield
Posts: 750
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to White7.3stroker
yeah i found it and the chips i have are live ts or tw but one of them dosent have but one position and the other on has two...but the pcm on the 97 isTDE0 and the chip is nvk4 so i didnt try it because my buddy didnt want to take the chance and burn his pcm up....but im wondering if it would work.............
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-06-2009, 10:27 PM
a truck
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 13,142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97-Stroker View Post
how do you install it while its in the truck. I had to take mine out and scratch off the prongs and use a scotch brite pad to clean them off. I dont think you could do that while its in the truck. PSD0389 Send me that write up to ssouder09@gmail.com or pm me it. Im interested in how others did it.

Thanks
-Steve
Ok man Ill send the write up off to you

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHUCK View Post
send me the video.....c.kluttz@yahoo.com
My chips in, but I didnt like how I pulled the cpu
Chuck I actually didnt pull my PCM to install my chip, Ill send you the write up

Last edited by Matt P; 02-07-2009 at 07:05 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors