IDM mod? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2009, 09:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vernon, Texas
Posts: 3,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to slammedSI Send a message via MSN to slammedSI Send a message via Yahoo to slammedSI
IDM mod?

What is it, And can it be done to the OBS rigs?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-21-2009, 10:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zelienople, Pa
Posts: 641
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to harrys91rs
IDM mod is changing a resistor in your injector driver module to increase the voltage sent to your injectors, so they open faster/stay open longer.

Found this searching google:
IDM Mod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-21-2009, 11:19 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, it can be done on the OBS trucks. I'm running one from an 02 7.3. 120v
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-22-2009, 01:59 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BC
Posts: 2,096
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I did it, Didnt notice anything with my chip.

With out one im sure theres a gain if your chip less.

Dont try it if you havent solder before.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-22-2009, 08:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Athens, Ohio
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to John_DeereGreen Send a message via Yahoo to John_DeereGreen
Yes, it can be done, and on a truck with an ICP fooler, or even most chips, you'll notice a pretty good difference, in my opinion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dallas4x4 View Post
I did it, Didnt notice anything with my chip.

With out one im sure theres a gain if your chip less.

Dont try it if you havent solder before.
It's how you made 332 on stock AA injectors!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-22-2009, 10:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vernon, Texas
Posts: 3,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to slammedSI Send a message via MSN to slammedSI Send a message via Yahoo to slammedSI
Where can i find the correct risitor? Also Any rightups on this on the site?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-25-2009, 07:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Casar n.c. A little town of about 600 people i think.
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
i love these "chipless" mod's, they don't cost much and still provide power. So, anybody know where to find some instructions on how to do the idm mod? i saw the pics but instructions would still be nice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-25-2009, 07:36 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
fyi, i went to radio shack for the resistor and the had different ones. some were without the k like 10k or just 10. and then there was something else like amps or something, just want to get the right one before installing, they had like 4 big drawers of resistors
sorry for the post but thought it might help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-25-2009, 07:37 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Casar, NC
Posts: 548
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Fireman5606
Well, It would be nice if someone has a little bit more information on how this is done. The link shows pics, and says the 309 is changed, but changed to what??? it looks like they switched the wires to a different location to me. I wonder how long it would take to get a new IDM.....decisions decisions
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-25-2009, 07:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Casar n.c. A little town of about 600 people i think.
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
i guess the worst that could happen is to blow the thing (IDM) up. that could be exciting even if theres no increase in power.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors