How big injectors will the stock fuel selector valve maintain? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2014, 05:00 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bois D' Arc Mo
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How big injectors will the stock fuel selector valve maintain?

I am looking at doing so e serious mods to my obs and am getting to the injectors and turbo part. How big injectors will the stock fuel selector valve maintain without hurting my power or making injectors useless. Looked at doing bronco swap but want some advice and input first. I read diesel power mag keeping up with the jones and it caught my attention. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-28-2014, 09:40 AM
BANNED by Kris
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5,883
Thanks: 45
Thanked 97 Times in 92 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Diesel Power's Mike McGlothlin was running 300/200 hybrids to high 500 hp with the selector.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-28-2014, 11:29 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bois D' Arc Mo
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok cool. Just didn't want to build a furl system for nothing. I know bdp says you can buy theirs with a twin pump but will do my no good without swapping to a bronco tank or running just one tank..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-28-2014, 11:36 AM
BANNED by Kris
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5,883
Thanks: 45
Thanked 97 Times in 92 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, that kit is mostly for the Super Duty's with their giant single tanks. Unless you went semi-custom. Each tank is the same size more-or-less, run one pump to each head...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-28-2014, 11:53 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bois D' Arc Mo
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hmm idk. Got so many options. I just know I read dpm article on keeping up with the jones and they ran 300/200 and was having trouble....so I just wanted some opinions
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-28-2014, 12:01 PM
BANNED by Kris
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5,883
Thanks: 45
Thanked 97 Times in 92 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Same guy as above
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-28-2014, 12:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bois D' Arc Mo
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ah ok. So 300/200 maybe just a bit big then for selector valve. Somewhere I read in article you could put a bigger selector valve but I don't remember where that was at...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-28-2014, 03:33 PM
BANNED by Kris
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5,883
Thanks: 45
Thanked 97 Times in 92 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here's the thing, sure you can put in a larger valve but then the pick-up tube is still 3/8" in the tank. Going for a bigger valve will get you a little longer of a blast of power but yo will still starve the engine from the tank. If you need the performance you get from 300/200, or bigger, then you are already looking at a custom setup. Pick your poison.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-28-2014, 04:21 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bois D' Arc Mo
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Good point, think I will try to hunt me down a bronco tank. Most part I heard it bolts on. But I believe you have to leave selector valve hooked up to get a fuel gauge reading. Correct?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-28-2014, 04:31 PM
BANNED by Kris
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5,883
Thanks: 45
Thanked 97 Times in 92 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not if that's the only tank you are going to run. Than you can just jump the two wires together. If you are going to use both tanks then grab a cheap 5 post relay and hook the switch's power to post 85, ground to post 86, gauge to post 30, and the front tank to 87a, and the rear to 87.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors