dp shuts my truck down??????? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2008, 09:21 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: linton
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
dp shuts my truck down???????

if i put my truck on extreme and then turn it back to stock it will die.... whats doing this?? it doesnt do this everytime though.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-26-2008, 09:23 AM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 5,538
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to cchase
maybe your stock is messed up and its your no start... id send it back
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-26-2008, 09:56 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hoschton, GA
Posts: 629
Thanks: 21
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by red stroker View Post
if i put my truck on extreme and then turn it back to stock it will die.... whats doing this?? it doesnt do this everytime though.....
This is going to be typical. Going from a program with higher PSI of oil pressure, more fuel, etc back to stock suddenly...this can happen. A modified stock tune will stop this from happening.


Diane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-26-2008, 12:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 888
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Big K Send a message via MSN to Big K Send a message via Yahoo to Big K
Yea, I have seen this also, pretty common.

But why go back to stock
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-26-2008, 02:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 934
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine will hickup sometimes when going from an extreem to stock but it never dies. I have seen it happen with other chips besides DP Tuner as well though.

Big K when your truck makes more power in the stock program than most others make already and it doesn't smoke stock isn't all that bad. That's what I drive in for a daily driver. Most everything else smoke pretty bad with my tall gears and laggy turob.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-27-2008, 08:18 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: linton
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i figured it just defueled it too much too fast and too much. to be honest i had no clue ??
should i send it back????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-29-2008, 07:20 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 90
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The more I read about problems you guys have with custom chips, the more small nuances I find. Thanks for posting this. It's unfortunate nobody tells you this kind of stuff up front.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-02-2008, 06:04 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: linton
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
but really when u think about it.... it not that big of a deal.... even though this still happens it still kicks the sh!t out of my old superchip... i even tried an edge evo.... they just dont compare. with the shift on the fly and custom tuned to your truck to give you maximum hp... what more could you ask for?? this is the only problem iv had with it. and i bet if i was really concerned with it i could prolly send it back and have it retuned for free...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-02-2008, 09:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 934
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mainly the only time I've noticed it is when you have two programs based off different PCM codes. Usually if all the programs on the chip are all based off the same code I don't have any hickups.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-02-2008, 01:42 PM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iva, SC
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are ya'll changing settings while under throttle?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors