New trubo and check engine light - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 09-01-2013, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Toddmichaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New trubo and check engine light

I just installed a beans d66 in my 95 f-250 along with the actuator and butterfly delete mods. When I get on it, the service engine light comes on almost as if im over boosting but the light will remain on untill I shut the truck off. The truck also is very underpowered while this light is on also as if overboosting and defueling but to my understanding if the turbo were over boosting the light would go off after a few minutes. Any suggestions on what the problem could be?


Thank you for your time,
Todd
Toddmichaud is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 09-01-2013, 08:38 AM
the baconator

 
terryknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD 21601
Posts: 12,660
Thanks: 10
Thanked 122 Times in 116 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
scan it to find out for sure, but my guess is low ICP

94.5 F250 Reg Cab 4x4 5 speed 4.10 276000 plus miles

97 F350 Crew Cab LB 4x4 5 speed 3.55 320000 plus miles (parts truck)



Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3 View Post
YouTube: Providing idiots everywhere a podium to share their stupidity
terryknight is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 09-01-2013, 09:22 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Toddmichaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How would you go about correcting low icp?
Toddmichaud is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 09-01-2013, 09:24 AM
the baconator

 
terryknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD 21601
Posts: 12,660
Thanks: 10
Thanked 122 Times in 116 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
either your ICP sensor is bad or your HPOP is weak. you need to scan it to see what the code is.

94.5 F250 Reg Cab 4x4 5 speed 4.10 276000 plus miles

97 F350 Crew Cab LB 4x4 5 speed 3.55 320000 plus miles (parts truck)



Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3 View Post
YouTube: Providing idiots everywhere a podium to share their stupidity
terryknight is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 09-01-2013, 09:25 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Toddmichaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok thanks when I get home from work ill scan it and get back to you, thanks
Toddmichaud is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 09-01-2013, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Toddmichaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok well I'm home now and i've learned that my generic scanner will not scan my truck. I will have to go to the ford dealer on tuesday to get the codes
Toddmichaud is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 09-01-2013, 03:20 PM
the baconator

 
terryknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD 21601
Posts: 12,660
Thanks: 10
Thanked 122 Times in 116 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
no a generic scanner will not work. lots of people use AE (auto enginuity) or a snap on mt2500(brick). i have used a snap on brick but now i use a snap on solus, belonsg to a friend. also DP tuner makes the infinity which works as well. ford will probably charge you the diagnostic fee to read the codes however much that is

94.5 F250 Reg Cab 4x4 5 speed 4.10 276000 plus miles

97 F350 Crew Cab LB 4x4 5 speed 3.55 320000 plus miles (parts truck)



Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3 View Post
YouTube: Providing idiots everywhere a podium to share their stupidity
terryknight is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 09-01-2013, 03:41 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Toddmichaud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok thanks I have access to the snap on scanner at my school so i might wait on that, Thanks
Toddmichaud is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-02-2013, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Off topic for a second, does the Solus need any keys like the K2A to talk to our OBS?
Haulstroker is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome