Chipping/.Programming a high miler - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2008, 08:09 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Chipping/.Programming a high miler

I just bought a 97 F250 HD with the 7.3 and a 5 speed, thats just turned 240000 miles. And as I'm new to the PSD, I'm wondering if it would be a good or bad idea to put a programmer on it. Its a smaller programmer....basically a plug and play, and I will use the truck mainly for pulling my 27 foot RV. I took a trip yesterday from Calgary to Red Deer (Alberta Canada) and got 15.54 mpg just running at 65 mph with out towing anything.. Is this good? Bad? Ugly?

Its all stock, running 265 70 16 all terrains...

Any info would be appreciated....

Thanks...
Attached Thumbnails
Chipping/.Programming a high miler-97-fomoco.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-17-2008, 08:28 AM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wailer View Post
I just bought a 97 F250 HD with the 7.3 and a 5 speed, thats just turned 240000 miles. And as I'm new to the PSD, I'm wondering if it would be a good or bad idea to put a programmer on it. Its a smaller programmer....basically a plug and play, and I will use the truck mainly for pulling my 27 foot RV. I took a trip yesterday from Calgary to Red Deer (Alberta Canada) and got 15.54 mpg just running at 65 mph with out towing anything.. Is this good? Bad? Ugly?

Its all stock, running 265 70 16 all terrains...

Any info would be appreciated....

Thanks...
Welcome to Powerstroke.org! No its okay to tune up the truck, but I highly suggest at a minimum some gauges first. At least a egt gauge as a bare minimum. You will find out you probobly want a intake and 3 inch dp also, but once you have the egt gauge you will find out if you need it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-17-2008, 03:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Canadian Stroker
I'd even suggest upgrading the air intake and exhaust before gauges and chipping it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-17-2008, 03:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,277
Thanks: 23
Thanked 20 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
i agree with both of them.. a set of gauges, intake and exhaust will help a lot.. let me know if you have any questions i would be more than happy to answer them
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-17-2008, 06:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South East Texas
Posts: 199
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah my truck has 220000 miles on it, i have whats in my sig. and i have no problems. the motor is a little weak though but still pulls hard, hard starts in the cold or cool weather, yes i done replaced the glowplugs and the relay is good and have new injector o-rings.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-17-2008, 08:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 503
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Welcome and nice truck I just ran a 350 mile trip on my truck at 307,000 miles on it and got 20.25 mpg with my mods below. I do agree a full exhaust and intake and deffinetly some guages if you get a tunerI forgot to add I even have 4.10's and I also have 265's all around
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-18-2008, 11:11 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 610
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I plan on getting a chip with just the 80hp economy setting. would I still need to get gauges if I'm just running the eco setting all the time?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-18-2008, 11:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bonners Ferry, ID.
Posts: 678
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 4everlearning
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk3322 View Post
I plan on getting a chip with just the 80hp economy setting. would I still need to get gauges if I'm just running the eco setting all the time?
Yes you will still need gauges. and possibly the rest as everyone has said. The pyrometer to keep an eye on your EGTs and the rest to keep those EGTs down where we like them. under 1250*
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-18-2008, 11:25 AM
Ole White

 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sebring,Fl
Posts: 5,255
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1st Gauges, air intake, exhaust or straight pipe and DP Tuner or Tony Wildman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-19-2008, 06:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 517
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raul@Stealth Automotive View Post
i agree with both of them.. a set of gauges, intake and exhaust will help a lot.. let me know if you have any questions i would be more than happy to answer them
Raul, do I have to drill and tap for the crossover hose. Are connection already there?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors