TW chip stuck on one tune - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2013, 12:31 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas!
Posts: 747
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TW chip stuck on one tune

I dont change tunes very often, so im not sure how long its been stuck. If i mess with the knob sometimes it will start working.....well i have having throttle pedal problems intermittently as well, so I thought they were related. After pulling the codes and replacing throttle and cam positions sensors, the chip is still stuck in tune #1. I removed the chip, ran the truck, re installed the chip, and it worked fine for a cpl days then no more changin tunes.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-23-2013, 12:34 PM
DERAIL MOD!!!



 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canton and kennesaw
Posts: 21,897
Thanks: 24
Thanked 151 Times in 139 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
send it back for a reburn? life time free rite?, make sure the chip is properly seated, has it been working a little loose?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-23-2013, 12:50 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas!
Posts: 747
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 351fifty View Post
make sure the chip is properly seated, has it been working a little loose?
That was my first thought. chip was seated well when i took it out, tape was still in place. re seated and re-taped when i put it back in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-23-2013, 03:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 449
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you might try re-cleaning the PCm....use a small amount of your wife's (girlfriend's), fingernail acetone......might have a bit of crud still on it.... ?

or you could unplug the knob from the chip, give the knob internals a squirt of Electrical Contact Cleaner, work it all one way, and then back 40-50 times, squirting it once inna while and clean it,
the make sure it's DRY and try plugging it back in then....

you can also borrow one (knob and cable) from your buddy and unplug yours from the chip and plug his in, if it works then, it's your knob switch....

Last edited by OL' OutLaw; 04-23-2013 at 03:31 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors