Gauge install HELP!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2013, 10:26 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 334
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Gauge install HELP!!!

Back in August I bought my OBS. The guy that sold it to me had a gauge pod installed but nothing hooked up. They are Auto Meter Ultra-lite gauges. The one I am having trouble with is my Boost gauge. It is a mechanical gauge. My question is, where exactly do I tie in to get my reading. The install directions on Auto Meters site show how to install it but doesn't tell you where you should tie into the engine compartment at. Please help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-20-2013, 10:34 AM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,617
Thanks: 6
Thanked 105 Times in 100 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDRhoads360587 View Post
Back in August I bought my OBS. The guy that sold it to me had a gauge pod installed but nothing hooked up. They are Auto Meter Ultra-lite gauges. The one I am having trouble with is my Boost gauge. It is a mechanical gauge. My question is, where exactly do I tie in to get my reading. The install directions on Auto Meters site show how to install it but doesn't tell you where you should tie into the engine compartment at. Please help!
Get a "T" fitting and tie it into your MAP sensor line. Where in Indiana are you from?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-20-2013, 10:35 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Gauge install HELP!!!

I think most just tee into the map sensor hose. You can find that on the passenger side of the engine bay on the firewall. It'll have a rubber hose coming off it going to the engine.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-20-2013, 10:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 334
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhanna6powerstroke View Post
Get a "T" fitting and tie it into your MAP sensor line. Where in Indiana are you from?
Mt. Vernon,IN. 15min East of Evansville.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-20-2013, 01:38 PM
Can you hear the derail??

 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canton and kennesaw
Posts: 20,488
Thanks: 6
Thanked 104 Times in 97 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Rubber line on pass side firewall goes to top of engine plenum , I made my "t" in the plumbing isle at Home Depot
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-20-2013, 03:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 260
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I drilled and tapped my spyder. It works good
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-20-2013, 04:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Henry county GA
Posts: 321
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I agree with drilling and taping the spider that's how i did it in my previous truck and worked great i did it that way because i herd of people having turbo surge with it T'ed in the map line.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-20-2013, 04:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 334
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What are you guys referring to when u say "spyder"?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-20-2013, 05:02 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,617
Thanks: 6
Thanked 105 Times in 100 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
It's the piece on the front of your turbo. It should have 2 silicone hoses coming off the bottom that go to the intake plenums n the valve covers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-21-2013, 03:51 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: norris il
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i didnt know where to put mine and had river city diesel do it and they tapped it in right in the top od the turbo and i haven't had any problems with it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors