Inducer wheel question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2013, 03:13 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Inducer wheel question

I saw a Youtube vid on a guy swapping wheels on a turbo. He used a 1/2" impact and just burped the throttle on the gun a few times to remove and install the wheel. He did it without removing the turbo from the truck. Most of the turbo work I have done on farm equip and big trucks was remove bad one and have rebuilt or replace. Never cracked a turbo open before and was wondering if his way was ok to do if I wind up getting the WW2 for mine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-14-2013, 05:07 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Never use an impact on a turbo. It causes fractures in the shaft that can/ will cause failure later. Maybe immediately, maybe thousands of miles down the road.
Bob
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-14-2013, 06:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,505
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Its been done thousands of times, on a SD...I've done it at least a doz times...never have read of a issue.

Last edited by CT Performance, Inc.; 02-15-2013 at 06:28 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-14-2013, 10:40 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oakdale, CA
Posts: 770
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I always remove the turbo to install a new wheel, like you are supposed to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-14-2013, 10:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,752
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 39 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin@DP-Tuner View Post
I always remove the turbo to install a new wheel, like you are supposed to.
X2, its only two bolts and some clamps, for alot of piece of mind and save the back.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-14-2013, 03:48 PM
Full A-Team Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phillips, WI
Posts: 6,171
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Well.....on a OBS it is 4 bolts and some clamps, and you HAVE to remove the turbo, the housing wont clear the head, and if it does, it wont go back on with the height of the new wheel
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-14-2013, 04:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,505
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
But no need to do a WW on a OBS as its the stock wheel...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-14-2013, 06:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
He wants to swap to the Wicked Wheel "2" which replaces the STOCK Wicked Wheel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:51 PM
Full A-Team Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phillips, WI
Posts: 6,171
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yeah if you aint got a WW2, you are being passed by the guy that does, and it is stupid fast how quick the turbo spools
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-15-2013, 06:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,505
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
My bad......totally didn't see that..plus its a OBS not a SD.....its been one of those weeks....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors