TW tunes on SCT? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2013, 02:51 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TW tunes on SCT?

As soon as i have the cash i am going to get a chip for my truck and have pretty much settled on the TW tunes. I like the SCT livewire as it eliminates the need for pillar gauges, but can TW tunes be loaded to it? If so what are the advantages and disadvantages?


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App

Last edited by mathewsz7; 01-04-2013 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-04-2013, 04:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The great state of Warshington
Posts: 889
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Shoot Cary at CT Performance a PM or email. He is a distributor of TW, and will be able to answer any questions you have.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-05-2013, 05:28 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Could I use the chip with a digital monitor rather than gauges? If so, what would be a good monitor?


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-05-2013, 05:43 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,545
Thanks: 1
Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Yes you can use a TW chip and a digital monitor or TW can put his tunes on a SCT.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-05-2013, 12:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A friend of mine had his Edge Evolution on his 6.0 set up so that the engine would not turn off until one of the numbers on his monitor got to a certain point, even when the key was off. I saw this when I was even more diesel illiterate than I am now. Does anyone know what this might be? Is it very beneficial? A couple months ago I was told it is the same reason you let your engine idle for several minutes before shutting down after a long trip... Can other devices be set up to do this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-06-2013, 03:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The great state of Warshington
Posts: 889
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm assuming that would be a turbo cool-down timer. Prevents the engine from shutting down and oil coking (or burning) on the turbo journal bearing while EGT's are still up.
Again, I'm not sure what units can/can't be programmed with that option. If you still have the paperwork for your SCT take a look. I doubt that is something you would have to get customs tunes for.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-06-2013, 05:41 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't have the SCT, just liked the looks/functionality.

Now I am leaning toward a 6position TW chip and either pillar gauges or the insight CTS. The Fd I'm on gets a deal on edge products so I would get the CTS for pretty cheap and would have the versatility of what I can monitor rather than just the three gauges I chose, and it would be much cheaper. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-06-2013, 06:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The great state of Warshington
Posts: 889
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Could always go with a triple gauge pod, two standard gauges and then the third being a aeroforce interceptor scan gauge. Personally, I like having standard gauges due to the fact that if one fails, I can still monitor all of the other inputs.
On the other hand the CTS is a nice unit. The fact that it has a backup camera incorporated is a nice touch. Definitely on my wishlist.
Really it is up to you, and what suits your needs best.
I would definitely get a standalone (TS) chip. That way as your truck progresses and you needs reburns, you still have gauges.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors