6 pos chip switch mount - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2012, 09:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6 pos chip switch mount

I put in my TS 6 pos chip and aFe intake today.
The switch for the chip doesn't come with any kind of mount for attaching it to the dash.

I'd like to hear what has worked for some of you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-15-2012, 09:47 PM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Everett Wa.
Posts: 282
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question

I'm in with you buddy ???? Where have you put your switch????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-15-2012, 11:37 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just drill a whole the size of the threaded part of the switch (test it by sliding the nut from the switch on the drill bit to find the right size) then it can put any where you want as long as the cord reaches. I mounted mine under my steering wheel by just drilling a whole into the plastic under it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-15-2012, 11:59 PM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Everett Wa.
Posts: 282
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford_Iowa_Boy_7.3 View Post
Just drill a whole the size of the threaded part of the switch (test it by sliding the nut from the switch on the drill bit to find the right size) then it can put any where you want as long as the cord reaches. I mounted mine under my steering wheel by just drilling a whole into the plastic under it.
Thanks Buddy!!! But if you check out my intro thread.. the rock Crawling buggy is something I have built!!!! If ya want to see more Pictures let me know!!!! It has a LS-1 Vette motor in it!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-16-2012, 04:52 AM
Diesel Freak
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Windsor Va 23487
Posts: 711
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine is beside the wait to start light looks almost factory
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-16-2012, 06:11 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm less concerned about where to mount it then how to mount it.
I don't see how the switch comes apart. I've tried pulling on the knob but I don't think it comes off. Do I need to pull harder? Even if the knob comes off, what do I use to actually mount/attach it to where ever I put my hole in the dash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-16-2012, 06:20 AM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Armstrong B.C. Canada
Posts: 791
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
there should be a very small allen head set screw on the knob itself, back it off and the knob slips off, then there is a nut on the threaded part. drill hole, slip through, tighten nut and replace knob and retighten set screw, done!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-16-2012, 07:59 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Great! Will check it out. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-16-2012, 05:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Got it mounted thanks.
Now I just need those injectors to come in and get that DP on.
I think I'll own it for 7 more year.
I wonder if the transmission will hold up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-16-2012, 06:04 PM
Full A-Team Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phillips, WI
Posts: 6,171
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by lancethibault View Post
I wonder if the transmission will hold up.
That my friend depends on the driver
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors