1997 PSD Daily Driver and Towing mods - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 10:51 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1997 PSD Daily Driver and Towing mods

Im not new to diesels but i am new to the powerstroke and new to looking at mods. I have a 1993 F-250, 1994 F-250 and a 2006 F-350 6.0. All of those are farm trucks. I just added a 1997 PSD crew cab, short bed, 4x4, auto.

This is the first truck i have considered doing some work to. Im looking to do upgrades that are comfortable for still being a daily driver but also want to tow 25K+ loads every now and then.

I didnt really want the automatic, but ive spent the past 5 years looking for this truck and couldn't help but buy it even with.

It has 227000 miles, less than 25K on a rebuilt tranny,

My biggest concern is the tranny. What can/should i do to protect it before anything else.

Ive already got a tymar intake in. Next is a new downpipe and exhaust. Ive spent alot of time reading before i posted so id have any idea on some of the suggestions. Lots of ideas but not sure where to start and what to continue with to make everything work well together.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-17-2012, 03:13 PM
the baconator

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
BTS is the best out there with an unlimited warranty, but since you only have 25K look in to #1 trans temp gauge - heat is emeny number 1, #2 a bigger cooler - heat is enemy number 1, #3 upgrade VB, #4 upgraded TC, #5 regear it
Old 11-27-2012, 02:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Ok Cool. Any suggestions as to where to look for these upgrades. Whats it take to regear it?
Old 11-27-2012, 03:04 PM
the baconator

Feedback Score: 1 reviews