TS Chip Problems - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2012, 08:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brentwood, California
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
TS Chip Problems

just installed a 6 pos TS chip in my 1996 cali auto with stock, high idle, 50, 75, 100, and 140hp.

truck runs fine, but having alittle issue with the shifting.


it shifts pretty good through all the gears, overdrive is alittle different then how my superchip was, but if im in any gear over 35mph the TC seems to lock up when im off the gas, even in overdrive doing 45mph, then when i tap the brake, it unlocks.


is something wrong? or is this how the TS chips are? what should i do?


tranny is all stock except for a built TC that ive never had problems with..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-22-2012, 08:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Beaverton
Posts: 572
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My stocker does that, and I was just wondering today if that's normal. I believe it's either the coast clutch or the TC locking, but I'm not sure if it's supposed to unlock/disengage when tapping the brake. Hopefully someone who knows more than me will ship in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-23-2012, 09:35 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Its the coast clutch and the tc locking. The tc's lock very low in these (which is great for economy and power). What was your Supercrips doing??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-23-2012, 12:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brentwood, California
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 85_305 View Post
Its the coast clutch and the tc locking. The tc's lock very low in these (which is great for economy and power). What was your Supercrips doing??
oh ok so its suppost to do that.. ok i just gotta get used to it.

when crusing the superchip at 40mph will shift into 4th and go overdrive right after that, now the TS will go into 4th around 35mph and od will come it at around 43mph, not bad just different.


and superchip was just locking up TC in higher speeds, the TS locks up lower, just have to get used to it.


other than that, i like it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-23-2012, 01:57 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Gotcha. Depending on how the chip was tuned, it won't lockup at slower speeds but higher load and throttle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-23-2012, 08:31 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: El Dorado Hills
Posts: 1,179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorcalPSD925 View Post
oh ok so its suppost to do that.. ok i just gotta get used to it.

when crusing the superchip at 40mph will shift into 4th and go overdrive right after that, now the TS will go into 4th around 35mph and od will come it at around 43mph, not bad just different.


and superchip was just locking up TC in higher speeds, the TS locks up lower, just have to get used to it.


other than that, i like it
Just so you know, these are 3 speed auto's with an OD so it is 1-2-3-OD.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-24-2012, 07:24 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Alabama
Posts: 146
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
where did you get the TS chip? i see one on flea bay for $250, with ts tunes. is the way it works buy the chip then send to someone for tunes? i still dont get the tuner thing.
whats up with your superchip? did that help at all? i was supposed to buy one from a local guy a while back, but never have the cash when i need it..:/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-24-2012, 07:36 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SuperCrips are junk so just dont bother.

The way they work is you buy the chip and the position selector, then a tuner programs the chip that you buy. You plug that chip in, and you are on your way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-24-2012, 09:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brentwood, California
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by low6fow View Post
where did you get the TS chip? i see one on flea bay for $250, with ts tunes. is the way it works buy the chip then send to someone for tunes? i still dont get the tuner thing.
whats up with your superchip? did that help at all? i was supposed to buy one from a local guy a while back, but never have the cash when i need it..:/
i got mine through Sinister Diesel, they ordered it directly from TS performance. i paid $240 for it. came with the tunes. most of the time when you buy a chip you will be able to select the tunes you want, unless its a blank chip.

and superchip worked decent. i made 32psi on stock turbo and splitshots, wasnt that bad but an actrual chip is way better.


as far as the shifting problems, i read its suppost to lock up sooner, and ive gotten used to it. all good now
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-24-2012, 09:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brentwood, California
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01Crewcab7.3 View Post
Just so you know, these are 3 speed auto's with an OD so it is 1-2-3-OD.
lol, yea sorry about that, im used to my cougar.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors