How do I know if I'm chipped? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2012, 06:56 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How do I know if I'm chipped?

Just bought a 96 quad-cab dually. It belonged to lady's deceased husband, and she didn't know much about it. In the paperwork with the truck was a manual for a chip from US Gear? How can I tell if it's in there?
Thanks - Bill
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-28-2012, 08:43 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by helievacpilot View Post
Just bought a 96 quad-cab dually. It belonged to lady's deceased husband, and she didn't know much about it. In the paperwork with the truck was a manual for a chip from US Gear? How can I tell if it's in there?
Thanks - Bill

If it is chipped, there will be a computer-style chip sticking out of the PCM, usually with a wire attached to it.

The PCM is under the dash, just to the right of the e-brake assembly. DO NOT mess with it while the keys are in the ignition!


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-29-2012, 03:27 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, I'll check it out.
- Bill
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-29-2012, 09:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lewisburg, Pa
Posts: 1,186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
from US gear?? dont they make the gear vendor? Didn't think they made any sort of performance chips
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-29-2012, 04:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I guess, back in the day, they did. Also discovered that there is a US gear dual range tranny in it. Looks like it may have all been done at the same time. I still can't identify the PCM. The only box that it looks like under the dash doesn't have anything resembling the OBD2 port. I will have to spend more time looking.
- Bill
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-29-2012, 04:27 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by helievacpilot View Post
I guess, back in the day, they did. Also discovered that there is a US gear dual range tranny in it. Looks like it may have all been done at the same time. I still can't identify the PCM. The only box that it looks like under the dash doesn't have anything resembling the OBD2 port. I will have to spend more time looking.
- Bill
Not sure how much applies to the OBS trucks VS. Superduty.... but here's a video that walks you through the removal of the PCM and the install of a chip.

Video - DP-Tuner Install
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-29-2012, 04:32 PM
Serving Our Country!

 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,195
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
US Gear made trucks fun to drive if pulling a big RV.
Doug
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-29-2012, 04:45 PM
the baconator

 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD 21601
Posts: 11,732
Thanks: 6
Thanked 64 Times in 61 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
there are 3 bolts holding the e brake assembly on. Remove them pull the assembly out and lay it down behind it you will see the PCM up by the firewall. there will be a chip in the middle of it if you have one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-29-2012, 04:47 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Great, I'll check that out. Thanks for the help.
- Bill
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-29-2012, 04:49 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by WD40 View Post
US Gear made trucks fun to drive if pulling a big RV.
Doug
I'm putting a camper on it and will be pulling my Land Rover on a dual axle trailer to Utah this summer.
- Bill
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors