ScanGauge Install Problems - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2012, 04:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Salem, IN
Posts: 999
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ScanGauge Install Problems

I've got my ScanGauges today and got the install somewhat done.

I thought I had got a 5v supply with the PCM power supply to the Barometric Pressure sensor. I tested the wire before I tapped into the wire and it showed 4.7v. After I tapped into it and got the install done, I now have 1.7v on that wire.

Anyone got any ideas on a good 5v supply and why the voltage dropped?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-18-2012, 05:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 150
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a 97 and didn't need 5 volts, just plugged right in. Is this for fuel pressure input?

Rusty
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-18-2012, 05:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Salem, IN
Posts: 999
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You have to supply 5v to the sensor or it will not work. The sensor wiring has 3 wires (black, red, white). The black is ground, red is 5v, and white connects to the gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-18-2012, 06:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 150
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I thought so. I'll look at mine and see what I did, I don't remember off hand and mine is for the pyrometer. Clean truck!

Rusty
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-18-2012, 06:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Salem, IN
Posts: 999
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pyro is different. It takes a special additional box to plug the pyro sensor into. That box gets 12v and a lead goes to the gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors