Removing Chip - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:39 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 558
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Removing Chip

For complicated reasons I need to temporarily remove my 4-pos chip from my truck to clear the P0306 code so some work can be done. I bought the truck with the chip so I don't know much about chips. Is it a physical thing (I hear it's in the kick panel of my 95 and I need to remove the e-brake bracket) that I can unplug? If so, will the truck still run as stock? When I put it back in, will it be all good or do I have to get it reflashed? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-27-2010, 05:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 155
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you dont have to pull all that apart all you have to do is take loose the fender well cover on the driverside pull the cover back over the tire and it will be rite up in the firewall.take the harness lose and then the bolts that hold the computer in the firewall then pull it out. the only wire left comeing out of the computer will be the one to your chip control.youll see it in there all you hve to do is pull it out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-28-2010, 07:57 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 558
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks Richied. I guess the bigger question I have is can I just remove the chip and the truck will run as stock or has everything been reprogrammed?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-31-2010, 07:06 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes - the truck will run as stock
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors