Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Newby question, stock injector limitations

2K views 16 replies 5 participants last post by  DopeStroke88 
#1 ·
I've searched but I'm not familiar or advanced with computers OR with all the lingo and acronyms associated with the components yet.

My question is what mods can/should be done before stock injectors just aren't good enough to keep up with the rest of the truck.

I've got a 96 SCLB 4wd. All stock other than a 4" intake. I know a 4" exhaust and down pipe are in her near future but as far as a tuner/goes and what tunes would be safe to run. I plan on buying a gauge pod as well so is it just a matter of letting pressures and temperatures of certain parts of the engine be my guide?

All information is appreciated as I'm new to the quest of more diesel power.

#2 ·
Do the supporting mods before injectors.

Inake
3" down pipe
straight pipe
gauges
tuner
HPOP
Efuel
intercooler

Custom tunes are the way to go since you will need custom when the injectors get changed.

Automatic or manual? Trans will need beefed up too.

What are your goals/uses for the truck? Usage can greatly affect mods. No one wants a smokey, high EGT tow vehicle

#3 ·
It's a 5 speed with 164xxx. The truck is my daily driver and I use my truck alot. If I got to haul, I haul. But nothing really heavy at all. No pulls and mudding at all. I want the truck to run as efficiently as possible. I want as much power as I can fetch without burning a tank of fuel every trip to work and back.

#6 ·
OBS trucks are 3" at the turbo and go to 3.5" at the CAT and 3.5" all the way to the back. A 4" downpipe will require some good firewall work to fit. Cheers!

#7 ·