Swapping AA's for AD's - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2009, 05:07 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Strokinokie
Swapping AA's for AD's

hey guys i have a few questions for yall i have a 95 Stroker with the gut-less AA injectors i have found some AD's for a steal of a price! my question is, after i swap them out do i need special programming, change anything out? can i just give old blue a sniff of Ether and let her ripp? what can i expect other than maybe some more than usual black smoke and a little extra sit back in my seat? i have the 6 position TS chip, wide open intake, and full down-pipe!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-06-2009, 05:11 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,488
Thanks: 15
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
from what im told, ADs will not work in obs trucks. different setup
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-06-2009, 05:13 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Strokinokie
I dont know i have heard different and was hoping it was true! i need more Smoke more Power!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-06-2009, 05:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 213
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Your aa's are 90cc single shots, the ad's are 140cc split shots. Your truck will drive fine. BUT....if you want to take full advantage of the additional fuel available, you should have a good tuner reburn your chip for the ad's. May want to look at upgrading your hpop at this point.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-06-2009, 05:25 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,488
Thanks: 15
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
so in that case i can upgrade my ABs to ADs or ACs....right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-06-2009, 05:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 213
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bockhold View Post
so in that case i can upgrade my ABs to ADs or ACs....right?
PLENTY of people have replaced their aa's with ad's. Some with tuning, some without. I say if you are going to go through the trouble of swapping injectors, get a real single shot upgrade. (160cc) But not everybody wants to spend that kind of money, so this can be an affordable upgrade for some people.

I just went through this on another forum. I thought tuning would be mandatory on an aa to ad, but apparently not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-06-2009, 05:49 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Strokinokie
LOL ! Poor boys have poor ways! Thanks for the information
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-06-2009, 08:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: boulder creek
Posts: 923
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i was told that for ad injectors u need a new pcm and chip reburned
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-07-2009, 03:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have Ad's in my truck and it runs fine with no programming, idles smooth and quiet and made my truck come to life, however, I am finding myself running out of oil, so I bought a 17* pump going to put it on this week sometime, also going to be sending my chip for a reburn in the near future so that I can take full advantage of them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-09-2009, 06:24 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i put AD's in my 96 and it ran fine. just idled a little rougher when it was cold until it warmed up. it blows more smoke and gave it more get up and go. i then got my ts chip reburned for the AD's and its a whole new animal. even more smoke and faster and runs smooth all the time. its like they came in there
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors