1997 XL to 1995 XLT with RKE - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 03-20-2012, 07:40 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1997 XL to 1995 XLT with RKE

I have a 97 XL PSD zf5 4x4 and want power doors and the factory RKE. The donor truck is a 95 PSD 4x4 but it is an auto tranny. I'm wondering if anyone knows if I can just swap the whole dash and doors into my truck. Any experience would be aprieciated. Thanks guys

Last edited by Mendomotox; 03-20-2012 at 07:51 AM. Reason: Spelling
Mendomotox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-20-2012, 08:13 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
superduty4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You'll have to swap the entire interior wiring harness out. A friend of mine went through this and found out the hard way.

97 F350 CCLB 4x4 PSD
superduty4x4 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-20-2012, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, I figured that out too that is why I want to try to swap the whole dash that way I get the RKE. I guess what I need to know is if the harnesses are different from a manual tranny to an automatic?
Mendomotox is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-20-2012, 03:34 PM
the baconator

 
terryknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD 21601
Posts: 12,434
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 112 Times in 107 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
if you could do with out the RKE it would be as simple as just swapping doors. as for the auto/manual differences in wiring harnesses i have no idea

94.5 F250 Reg Cab 4x4 5 speed 4.10 276000 plus miles

97 F350 Crew Cab LB 4x4 5 speed 3.55 320000 plus miles (parts truck)



Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3 View Post
YouTube: Providing idiots everywhere a podium to share their stupidity
terryknight is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-20-2012, 03:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
superduty4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No, but there are some things you'll need to do with the dash harness to make it work. The harnesses are the same but certain plugs are capped or not depending on if its an auto or manual.... just make the harness out of the donor dash resemble what the one that came out looked like around the steering column as far as what's plugged in and where.
When I say you have to swap the interior wiring harness, I mean the harness running through the cab that runs the domes lights etc. It's all a different animal on an RKE truck.

97 F350 CCLB 4x4 PSD
superduty4x4 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-20-2012, 06:01 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I didn't say before, my truck is an ex cab. Is the dome light harness, etc. different on those too? And if so do you know why it is different? And about the power doors, I pulled all the guts and harnesses out last week and I ended up having to cut wires to get the drivers side harness out. Will they work with those wires not hooked up? Thanks for the help guys
Mendomotox is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-21-2012, 06:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
superduty4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know if the cab harness is different for an extra cab vs. single cab but I'd imagine they are. I can't remember why it was different, but I remember him having one hell of a headache trying to add RKE to his truck that didn't have it... he was thinking the same thing you were, swap the dash and dash harness and call it good. Some of the plugs where the harnesses connect down on the driver's side firewall were different and he spent a lot of time figuring out what the deal was.
If you don't know what wires you had to cut I'd say reconnect them when you put things back together.

97 F350 CCLB 4x4 PSD
superduty4x4 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-21-2012, 07:05 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If I do the dash swap I would splice those wires back together but if the rke is gonna be such a pain ill just forget about it and just use the dash harness that I need to get the power doors working. I mean I could buy a viper remote start kit and wire that in eventually if I want a remote. Sounds like that will be easier? The reason I was thinking of swapping the whole thing is because I can get the whole dash for 75 bucks! So I thought, why not? But maby I can just use the sub harness for the doors?
Mendomotox is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-21-2012, 09:12 AM
the baconator

 
terryknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD 21601
Posts: 12,434
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 112 Times in 107 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
xl dash harnesses have the stuff for power doors and locks. ask Garrett (weareweird69) on here he knows all sorts of interior stuff

94.5 F250 Reg Cab 4x4 5 speed 4.10 276000 plus miles

97 F350 Crew Cab LB 4x4 5 speed 3.55 320000 plus miles (parts truck)



Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3 View Post
YouTube: Providing idiots everywhere a podium to share their stupidity
terryknight is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-21-2012, 11:29 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I thought that before I went to pull the harness. There is a plug on the drivers side but like I said you also have to cut some wires that run up behind the dash that didn't have a connector. Maby those wires are just for the rke on that truck. Maby the power doors will work without those wires? Can I just pm garret?
Mendomotox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome