CB Problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2012, 11:52 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sussex NJ
Posts: 1,527
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CB Problem

I hace a CB mounted in my 6.4 and obs and both stopped working. They both turn on but i don't hear anything. I have moved all the dials switches and nothing. I have the CB where you can get the weather on it i can hear the weather fine but i can't hear any static from the cb and or people talking. I even had my friend try to see if he can get it to work and he had no idea. Let me know what you think i should do..
They are both less than a year old.
Tom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-30-2012, 11:59 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Google cb shops in your area. They are usually near truck stops. You may have fried the cb due to the antenna is not matched to the radio. You want to have as close to zero to zero match from 1-40 on the channels. Usually cb shops will match the radio 1:1 on channel 1 and 40. After that they will work for ever.

What brand cb and antenna are you running.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-30-2012, 12:04 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sussex NJ
Posts: 1,527
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Both CB's are Cobra 29 BT with weather and night watch. Im using a magnetic mount antenna for both trucks. I picked the Antennas up at the local TA truck stop.

Tom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-30-2012, 12:09 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
what brand antenna are they. If they are some cheap antenna and weren't matched to the radio. If you used your radio a lot most likely you fried the board.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-30-2012, 12:14 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sussex NJ
Posts: 1,527
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They where some 30.00 magnetic antenna from a truck stop. No idea on the brand. How will i know what CB antenna will work for that radio?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-30-2012, 12:16 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hudson Valley
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Where did you mount the cb in the 08?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-30-2012, 12:19 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sussex NJ
Posts: 1,527
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Right in front of the center console where the cup holders are. I really didn't want to drill the console but i made 2 small holes but it looks awesome.


Tom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-30-2012, 04:19 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkobes43 View Post
They where some 30.00 magnetic antenna from a truck stop. No idea on the brand. How will i know what CB antenna will work for that radio?
Technically any cb antenna willl work with any cb radio. But if they are not tuned properly then you can cause damage to the radio.

There is more to a cb radio set up then just hooking up the radio and attaching the antenna to it.

It needs to be ( matched or Tuned ) which is what I talked about earlier.

Usually they use an external SWR Meter. It is hooked between the radio and the antenna. Then you make adjustments to the antenna til you achieved the 1:1 match between channel 1 and channel 40. Sometimes the coax is shortened or extended or just a simple adjustment of the antenna up or down in the mount.

Really if you have not done this before then you should have an experinced person do it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-30-2012, 04:44 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sussex NJ
Posts: 1,527
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcountrysg View Post
Technically any cb antenna willl work with any cb radio. But if they are not tuned properly then you can cause damage to the radio.

There is more to a cb radio set up then just hooking up the radio and attaching the antenna to it.

It needs to be ( matched or Tuned ) which is what I talked about earlier.

Usually they use an external SWR Meter. It is hooked between the radio and the antenna. Then you make adjustments to the antenna til you achieved the 1:1 match between channel 1 and channel 40. Sometimes the coax is shortened or extended or just a simple adjustment of the antenna up or down in the mount.

Really if you have not done this before then you should have an experinced person do it.
Yes i should have had an experienced tech tune it for me. But i did not. Can the radio even be salvaged if it is "fried"?

Tom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-30-2012, 04:46 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkobes43 View Post
Yes i should have had an experienced tech tune it for me. But i did not. Can the radio even be salvaged if it is "fried"?

Tom
Lucky for you the Cobra 29 has been around for years. There a lot of mods you can do to it. unless they have changed the boards in them that I am not aware of.

I would do as I recommended in my first post. Google CB Shops in your area. I know there has to be at least one around. Truckers still use CB radios
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors