Factory CD/Stereo for my 97 F250? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 06-10-2011, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Factory CD/Stereo for my 97 F250?

I'm looking for a working factory Ford CD player/stereo for my F250. I have the original windor sticker that shows my truck came with a cd player but now it just has a tape deck model. I assume the original one went out so they replaced it with this tape model. Anyone got one they'd sell me?
fixitforfree is offline  
post #2 of 13 Old 06-11-2011, 04:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fruit Cove, Fl
Posts: 316
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am jealous! I want the factory CD, but am told that it is a PITA to install. I ended up with an aftermarket head unit which I really don't care for. That being said, the factory CD players are on eBay with regularity.
pork chop is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 06-12-2011, 04:09 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Since my truck window sticker shows it came with a factory CD, I'm not so sure why it would be a pain to install. Do you mean you've heard there a pain if you're truck didn't originally come with them? If so, I assume wiring is differnet, etc. making it a pain?
fixitforfree is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 06-12-2011, 05:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fruit Cove, Fl
Posts: 316
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, if you don't have the factory install, you need to get a wiring harness, an amp and it is a lot of work. If you have the amp and harness intact, it should be plug and play. They are available on eBay.
pork chop is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 06-12-2011, 05:48 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Where is the factory amp located? I haven't come across it yet but haven't looked real hard. I guess every truck that came with the factory CD had the amp?
fixitforfree is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 06-12-2011, 06:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fruit Cove, Fl
Posts: 316
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know where they are located to be honest. Every truck that had the factory CD did have the amp.
pork chop is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 06-13-2011, 05:08 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I haven't seen mine yet but, like I said earlier, I have the original window sticker and my truck shows it came with the factory CD, I'll look a little better under the center of the front seat.
fixitforfree is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 06-13-2011, 06:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My amp was located just to the right of the gas pedal on the firewall.
dk250x is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 06-15-2011, 05:56 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
97Stroker54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have mine for sale! Will be taking out of my truck in a week or so!

(Sold) 97 F-350 Reg Cab long box 4X4 Auto 111K Miles!
4 inch lift, DIY 6637 Air Intake, 35 inch BFGoodrich All Terrains, 3 gauge pillar with boost, EGT, Trans temp, Smoked Clearance lights, DP to 4 inch pipe with 5 inch mitre stack, 6 Pos chip with TW tunes (love them!).


97Stroker54 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 06-15-2011, 06:17 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dk250x View Post
My amp was located just to the right of the gas pedal on the firewall.
I looked last night and think I see what might be the amp on the firewall just up and to the right of the firewall. Can you send a photo or tell me some wire colors so I can verify that's what I'm looking at? I'm just confused. My original window sticker says my truck came with a factory cd player yet it now has the factory cassette in it. I just want to be sure if I pop in a factory cd player it works and all is well.
fixitforfree is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome